Spaghetti Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Tasted great! I pretty much followed exactly except I used a can of petit diced tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes so they were more tender. Added some garlic as well! My husband was pretty impressed with the presentation! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsollenberger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CECILIAMORISON
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Good concept! I used a 10 1/2" spring form pan, 1 lb of ground buffalo, 1 lb of thin spaghetti, 2 jars of spaghetti sauce, 4 eggs (medium), and 2 cups of shredded mozzarella. Brown up the meat (I add 1/4 tsp ground oregano, 1/2 tsp sweet basil, 1/4 tsp season salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp minced onion and 1/2 tsp minced garlic), add 1 jar of sauce, set aside. Cook the spaghetti, rinse with cold water, add beaten eggs to cooled spaghetti (otherwise you'll get egg chunks in your cake), mix in other jar of sauce. Layer half of spaghetti mix, pressing slightly. Next layer the meat mix. Then layer the rest of the spaghetti and top with mozzarella. I cooked mine for the time allowed in the recipe with a cookie sheet underneath to keep any seeping off my oven. Sprinkle with a little Parmesan cheese. My 3 and 4 year olds ate 2nds of this "cake"!!! Happy April Fools! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECILIAMORISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have made a very similar recipe for years and I will tell you the secret! Use more veggies, chopped broccoli, zucchini squash, black olives, and pretty much a little of any of your favorite veggies. I did not use the ricotta cheese, substituting a little more Parmesan cheese and top with mozzarella or provolone. Baking time if very important, don't over bake it! I used a small can of tomato sauce and the sliced tomatoes also. Try it again and see if you don't get better results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Instead of just spraying the pan try lining it with parchment paper just cut a round the size of the bottom then a collar to line the inside sides and another round for the top spray all well with releacent(Pam-Vegelene, etc) this will ensure it not drying out and make a perfect torte shape when removed from pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Hubshman-Edinger

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Great for leftover spaghetti!! A bit daunted by others' reactions to the "dryness", I used three whole eggs and 1/2 pound tofu (not ricotta). Just put all ingredients (+garlic powder and grnd pepper), (-cooked pasta) into a food processor and processed till combined. Then, stirred pasta into mixture. Layered pasta mix, sauteed veggies, cheese, Pasta mix, veggies... etc till all was gone. DELICOUS!! A great way to empty the fridge and fill the tummy! Didn't need a side of sauce at all! (and I'm picky!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chiquita632000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was very good--I used 3 whole eggs instead of the egg whites and mozzarella instead of provolone. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Can't really give the recipe 5 stars ,considering I made many modifications and ended up serving more of a spaghetti casserole. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta cheese and used whole eggs. I also used more cheese and did not use chopped tomatoes. Instead I cooked some ground turkey with mushrooms and added in my own spaghetti sauce. I then layered all of the ingredients and cooked it in a casserole dish. Everyone really loved it ,even my husband who is not a fan of pasta. I plan on making again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Taking other reviewers advice, I too added more ricotta and more seasonings. This is a great way to use up that leftover spaghetti you've got in the fridge. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
very dry. needed more ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen van Buren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
Made this for my kids tonight for April Fool's...they LOVED it!! I just made my noodles and added sauce meat and 2 eggs....mixed up and sprinkled with moz cheese. I put mine in a bundt cake pan. Baked for about 30 min on 350 and viola. I spooned more sauce and some Ragu cheese sauce over the top. It was beautiful and tasty. Was a really great change for the kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States