Spaghetti Squash with Creamy Pumpkin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Prefect for broccoli, but when I used it for macaroni, it came out a little mellow for my family's taste. Did away with the wine, mustard seed, and paprika. Upped the salt to one table spoon and added a cup of cheese. Extra points for the recipe being so flexible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I only used half of the called for yogurt and pumpkin and it was still too much, they drowned out all flavor of the squash. Overall pretty flavorless unless you add more salt and cheese. I won't be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetnsalty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I brought this to a potluck and it was gobbled up with requests for the recipe. I didn't have shallots so I substituted 2 tbls. of finely chopped sweet onion. I also browned the butter which adds a nice flavor. No truffle oil on hand. I will definitely make again for a crowd - I liked it as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe! The Truffle oil gives it a real kick. I also decided to "bake it" into a casserole type dish, to fool the kids. After pouring the sauce over the squash, I added breadcrumbs and some more cheese and popped it into the oven. 350 for about 10 minutes. It was a big hit with a nice green salad on the side. Next time I will drain the squash a little better (I baked them the night before -- I used olive oil to grease the baking sheet instead of spray) and let it back a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I Lalalalalalalalove this! Yay. I think what made it so yummy was cooking the garlic until it was golden to the point of almost brown. It was browned in places, and I had to use red onion because I am out of shallots. I cooked them both together, and used about 2-3 tbsp of the chopped onion. I added 1/4 c of parm to the mix. I salted the squash with No Salt, it works as good as salt and better for me, before adding the mixture on top of the squash. Topped it with a little more parm. I placed the squash and pumpkin mixture back into the shell of the spaghetti squash and baked it a little more until the cheese was melted. After it came out I grated a lil bit of nutmeg on top. Black pepper would be good too. But this is so good! Nutty and the rigth kind of creamy. Thank you. The rest of you gotta try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ahudson
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Really liked it. It's hearty comfort food without being really heavy. I didn't have truffle oil and it tasted just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Love, love. I had so many spaghetti squash from my garden this fall that I tried nearly every recipe and this is the first one I'm making for the second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I'm sorry to say I didn't like this recipe, and I was sorely disappointed because it has such great ingredients. I like spaghetti squash plain, so I was really excited to try it dressed up, and I've tried GREAT recipes before, but this recipe didn't taste good to me. Sorry that I wasted money on ingredients I wont even be able to eat now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States