Spaghetti Squash Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This recipe was the starting point for my adventures with sauteed spaghetti squash! I decided to try Mediterranean-style next: I microwaved my squash whole (poke plenty of holes first!), then cooled slightly, cut in half and used a fork to scrape strands out. I sauteed onions, garlic and chopped green and red peppers in olive oil, then added the squash to the pan. I then added diced tomatoes (have used canned since - work just as well), oregano and basil to taste. Once heated through, I added sliced green and kalamata olives, then topped with crumbled (fat free) feta cheese. I covered the skillet just until the feta softened, then served piping hot. Delicious! Thanks for the "blank palette" to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I've never prepared spaghetti squash before so this was a really good way to learn how to prepare it. Definitely do as the first reviewer instructed and poke holes in it and microwave for 10 minutes on high before baking. Even with doing that I still baked it at 350 for 45 minutes. I let it cool and followed the rest of the directions. I cut back on the garlic using only one clove and used about 1/4 cup of chopped onion. All it needed was a bit of salt, pepper, and some parsley for color. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
very yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I really thought this had great flavor, but the 8 year old still prefers marinara. This is my fave though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Perhaps this is a regional dish and is loved by people in a different part of the country. I followed the recipe exactly and wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bisbee, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Absolutely delicious! The first time I made this I followed the recipe to a T except added parmesan on top. So yummy. The second time I added sauteed mushrooms and stewed tomatoes and it is honestly so nice to find guilt-free pasta:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
great recipe! it makes a lot more than you would expect, but i just refrigerated the squash(not sauted) for next time. one little change for a different flavor...i used bacon fat instead of butter to saute the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dillon, Montana, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I was looking forward to this based on the previous reviews but it turned out to be a clumpy mushy watery mess and extremely bland even though I followed the recipe exactly. Trying to doctor it up with seasonings did not help either. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CW1113

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westwood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very good, I did use EVOO instead of butter. Then, I added my favorite red sauce and turkey meatballs. This dish was better with the squash, than with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dejastew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is the first time I've ever had Spaghetti Squash. I prepared it as written. No changes. It's very good and a nice change from pasta or rice. I can see many other uses for Spaghetti Squash. I can't wait to try it with my Basic Tomato Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a Paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Spaghetti Squash I

See how to make scrumptious spaghetti squash “spaghetti."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States