Spaghetti Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I like that this recipe is a strong deviation from the typical, boring, predictable combo of spaghetti squash + marinara sauce. I added garlic to the saute pan, since it was so often recommended in the comments, and you can pretty much never go wrong with garlic. Glad I added it. used a large onion instead of medium, and substituted fat free (guilt free!) greek yogurt for the sour cream. My basil was some that I dried in my pantry 2 weeks ago, so it was very flavorful, unlike the typical grass clippings in a jar from the store, and the basil flavor was great in this dish! For the topping, I tore up some rustic Italian bread, sprayed it lightly with olive oil spray, and sprinkled with a bit more basil, garlic powder and salt. Also, I used fresh grated parmesan cheese. I think using quality, fresh ingredients helped out. I give this 3 stars, because it's interesting and a good way to use spaghetti squash, but it's not a knock-out dish. I got a spaghetti squash in my CSA basket, so even though I'm not really enthused about the vegetable in general, this dish was an easy, interesting, and pretty tasty way to experience it. I won't go out of my way to make it again, but if I get another spaghetti squash in my CSA basket, I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was a very enjoyable creamy side that I served with a spicy bbq chicken. The flavors were simple but good. The only change I made was to use panko instead of bread cubes on top. If I made again I would sub some italian dressing for part of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was good! I added salt, more cheese, spinach and topped it with French crispy onions. Sure I made some changes but it is a good base recipe for spaghetti squash. Thank you NMC0013.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and my family didn't care for this at all. It was lacking in flavor, and I also didn't care for the overall texture for a casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this recipe as written, and while it was ok, it lacked something, some zing. My wife says it would be better with more of a cream sauce, and I'm thinking more spices, perhaps a little garlic. Next time I'll improvise for sure, maybe the other reviewers were right to change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglaston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Pretty good recipe. I used fresh mushrooms, and I think it needs more sour cream. I also seasoned with salt and pepper, and used garlic and onion croutons. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Love, love, loved this! Just added salt and pepper to taste, and topped with french fried onion straws instead of breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
this is good but with that being said its alot of work and lacks on the flavor, I would make this again but would alter adding more cheese not just adding on top. If your looking for something different this is it. Prepare yourself for the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
The first time, I made this, I followed the recipe almost completely. I used frozen mushrooms and light sour cream. Absolutely loved it! The second time I made it, I used fat free Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and switched to asiago cheese instead of Parmesan. I used seasoned breadcrumbs mixed with a few tablespoons of grated parm as the topping. Still love it! Such a simple and versatile recipe! My next batch will include some tomato and zucchini. This also reheats well and you will be the envy of all your coworkers when they smell all that garlicky goodness! Works well as a side, or a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mermaid62

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States