Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I have used this for years. I have played around with it a little and found that a teaspoon of sugar cuts the acidity of the tomatoes. And if you want to make it taste a little richer, stir in a quarter cup of cream before serving. Also, I drain grease off the beef before adding any vegetables, that way you aren't pouring out all your garlic/onion flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
759 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hironda
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I love this recipe and it has become my favorite with a couple of small changes. I like my sauce more creamy with the tomatoes less chunky, so I use "crushed" instead of diced tomatoes. I love mushrooms, so I also add a 7 ounce jar (drained) of button mushrooms (usually Pennsylvania Dutchman available at my regular grocery). The button type mushrooms are good because they are easy to see in the sauce and can be left off the spoon for those eaters who don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
462 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This recipe was very easy and tasty. It's a really hearty sauce and next time I'll add sauteed mushrooms. I'll certainly make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
384 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Easy, painless, and tastes good. I will def use as a base recipe again. Maybe it's in the asian in me that likes to marinate everything... but if you marinate the beef in 2 tb of soy sauce, 1 tsp sugar, 2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce and a 1/4 of salt for 15 minutes before sauteing...it adds a world of difference to the flavor in the beef. It no longer just just tastes like tomato sauce drenched in flavorless meat. Also add salt and pepper to the meat (to taste) while sauteing with the onions and garlic and peppers before adding to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Yeung

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
We used this recipe for a benefit where we fed over 400 people, everyone enjoyed it. We increased the ingredients by 500, did the math, added a little more beef than what it called for, but it turned out great and was fairly easy to do. If I am crazy enough to do another benefit, we will use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Five stars for a quick, easy, delicious recipe! I DID use 1 1/2 lbs beef and a large can (29oz) of diced tomatoes (I wanted a little extra sauce), but those were the only changes. Thanks to Hank's mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This would be a great recipe if you left the peppers out. Otherwise it is perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I absolutely loved this spaghetti sauce and so did my father and brother. I used "Italian Seasoning", but other than that, I didn't have to substitute anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe as is and my husband and I loved it! I usually use a seasoning packet and we always hate it :) I don't know why I didn't try this earlier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
i also omit the peppers. i also add one bay leaf. its a very good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States