Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I love this recipe. Soo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
My family liked this sauce for spaghetti. It's so much quicker to make than our other favorite (which takes half a day to make). I usually omit the green pepper so that all of my kids will eat it. Also, cooking the ground beef with the onion in it makes the onion texture almost undetectable in the final sauce -great for kids who think they don't like onions. If we have mushrooms on hand, I'll mince those and throw them in as well... Just a good, simple recipe that does well with tweaking based on the ingredients we have on hand. I do add some brown sugar (to almost anything cooked with tomatoes)- the amount depends on your tomatoes. Most store-bought tomatoes are much less acidic than they used to be, so they don't need as much sugar. Our home-grown varieties tend to be much more acidic, and require a bit more sugar. Add the brown sugar a little at a time to keep from making a sweet sauce. I hate it when I do that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Tried many recipes this one does the trick in flavor and texture. Love It!!!! No more searching for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Good, but just seems to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
im not a canned tomato person, so i am using a lot of fresh tomatoes, crushed, instead of the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, and it still tastes really good. Still on the stove, but the simple flavours are truly amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Made it for dinner tonight. Added 1 tsp sugar as per others' advice. For me, it was just okay, nothing to go gaga over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I added hot sausage cut in pieces to add a little more zing to this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Great recipe but I added grape jelly to it to cut down on the acid. About 1/2 cup and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Bland as written but I suppose one could use it as a simple start to a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I have been making this sauce for 37 years, minus the diced tomatoes. I got the recipe from Berty Crockers Dinner for Two Cookbook. It used garlic powder but over time I started using fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States