Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for sauce! It's very easy to adapt for personal preferences. I omit the green peppers and cut down a little on the onion. I also use 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 sausage for extra flavor. My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Lacked the flavor I was looking for. Trying to be healthier, I ate mine over cooked zucchini strings. I also used ground turkey and with held the bell pepper because of a bell pepper hater in the family. Maybe the beef+noodle+peppers is the combo that made every one else rave about this. I add tons of seasoning to compensate for the blandness and some red pepper and it smelled great and tasted great for about 2 seconds then the everything floated away to a canned tomato after taste. That canned stuff on the bottom shelf for $1 had better flavor than what I built. Could try it without the changes I made, but think I will start looking for a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is a really wonderful recipe! The only changes I made were to leave out the pepper and add a few bay leaves. Otherwise I stuck to the recipe and was very pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Did it...loved it! Easiest recipe ever....added some mushrooms and it was awesome....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Used crushed tomatoes for a smoother sauce, omitted green peppers, half pound of ground beef, added one teaspoon of sugar to cut the acid and one bay leaf. Froze individual containers for single servings. This will be my go-to sauce from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Talcott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a fabulous recipe, I've made it several times and now I double or triple it and freeze the rest. I don't care for the green peppers so I leave those out of any sauce. The only other changes are that I use crushed tomatoes instead of diced and since those are a little thicker so you need to add a bit of water. I also add a tiny bit of sugar to cut the acid. To make this on a low salt diet use "no salt added" tomatoes and leave out the salt. It's better than any sauce you could buy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a tasty hearty sauce with no effort. I only had mexican tomato sauce and the tomato paste had roasted garlic. I used a yellow pepper and added a bit of sugar to cut the acid from the tomato. I simmered this covered for a couple of hours before serving. The sauce was tasty and tomatoey. I prefer more body in my sauce and no chunks, but the flavor was good. While this did not make my favorites, it is a good decent homemade sauce and we enjoyed our meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Good recipe. Easy, simple ingredient list. I did add water to thin it out a bit. Maybe 1/2 cup total water. No other changes, except for this particular dinner I added jarred pasta sauce to supplement it. I preferred the flavor of the original sauce but needed it to stretch a little farther. It would probably feed 4-6, depending on their eating habits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Added shredded carrots and celery to give a veggie boost. Also added 1/2 cup Merlot as simmering- gave it great body! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Parrott

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made this recipe and my husband and daughter absolutely loved it. My husband is very picky with pasta and he actually said it was the best I made. Made it exactly the way it says, just added some italian seasoning, but it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States