Spaghetti Sauce IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Simple and easy, A good tasting basic sauce. Worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
ended up tasting like tomatoes and nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Changes I made! I always half the recipe since there are only 4 of us and there are always leftovers....If in the mood I will add ground beef but I always leave out the water, add one can of tomato paste, a can of diced tomatoes rather than crushed and I add a couple tablespoons of white cooking wine. I eyeball italian seasoning and sometimes add fresh or dehydrated onions depending on what I have on hand. I still add extra parsley and salt and pepper, usually I skip the basil...And of course I don't cook it for two hours...that's just ridiculous! It's really sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This recipie was not what I was expecting. It tasted closer to a marinara sauce, yet bland. I think it needs something in it to bring out more of a tomato taste. I do love marinara sauce, but not with my lasagna or spaghetti sauce. However, it wasn't the watery or oily nightmare that some reviewers stated. I followed as written and it thickened up just fine. I also found that it thickened a little more when I let it sit overnight in the fridge and reheated the next day. So all and all the consistency was perfect for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I liked it... I added some parsley, oregano,onion powder, garlic salt, and a dash of store bought Italian seasoning, with a pound of beef and a pound of mild Italian sausage links....put it over spaghetti noodles, and topped it with mozzarella cheese.. my children loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Great base recipe. But instead of water try putting 1/4 cup vodka, brings out the taste. I personally used a special vodka with a red tint called vampire vodka, gave it a beautiful red color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I third this recipe I added some red onions and some red peppers to this mix and I used it for pizza sauce it was good!!! I left out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I added a large can of tomato sauce and halved the oil; This came out perfectly thick, creamy, and herbalicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Heavenly....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bogota, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I made this sauce to use on chicken parmesan and boy was it dissapointing. I tried it becuase my family loves garlic, but this just tasted like tomatoes and garlic mixed together. I will have to keep looking and reccomend you do as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States