Spaghetti Sauce IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Simple and easy, A good tasting basic sauce. Worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
ended up tasting like tomatoes and nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Changes I made! I always half the recipe since there are only 4 of us and there are always leftovers....If in the mood I will add ground beef but I always leave out the water, add one can of tomato paste, a can of diced tomatoes rather than crushed and I add a couple tablespoons of white cooking wine. I eyeball italian seasoning and sometimes add fresh or dehydrated onions depending on what I have on hand. I still add extra parsley and salt and pepper, usually I skip the basil...And of course I don't cook it for two hours...that's just ridiculous! It's really sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This recipie was not what I was expecting. It tasted closer to a marinara sauce, yet bland. I think it needs something in it to bring out more of a tomato taste. I do love marinara sauce, but not with my lasagna or spaghetti sauce. However, it wasn't the watery or oily nightmare that some reviewers stated. I followed as written and it thickened up just fine. I also found that it thickened a little more when I let it sit overnight in the fridge and reheated the next day. So all and all the consistency was perfect for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I liked it... I added some parsley, oregano,onion powder, garlic salt, and a dash of store bought Italian seasoning, with a pound of beef and a pound of mild Italian sausage links....put it over spaghetti noodles, and topped it with mozzarella cheese.. my children loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Great base recipe. But instead of water try putting 1/4 cup vodka, brings out the taste. I personally used a special vodka with a red tint called vampire vodka, gave it a beautiful red color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I third this recipe I added some red onions and some red peppers to this mix and I used it for pizza sauce it was good!!! I left out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I added a large can of tomato sauce and halved the oil; This came out perfectly thick, creamy, and herbalicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Heavenly....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bogota, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I made this sauce to use on chicken parmesan and boy was it dissapointing. I tried it becuase my family loves garlic, but this just tasted like tomatoes and garlic mixed together. I will have to keep looking and reccomend you do as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super simple spaghetti sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States