Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My supper club has deemed this recipe "Emergency Sweat Pants" worthy - whenever I make it, they know not to wear jeans! And I've learned to always double the recipe because they will frequently go back for a "mug of sauce" and some bread. My modifications: I saute my onion/garlic in olive oil, then pour in the red wine (merlot) and reduce it down (makes the flavor a little richer and deeper). Then I pour in the rest of the ingredients (I use one 28 oz. can of Dei Fratelli Tomato Sauce and one 28 oz. can of Dei Fratelli - Herbs & Olive Oil Chopped Italian Tomatoes plus one 6 oz. can of Contadina tomato paste) except for the meat. I let it simmer for a few hours. Then I brown a pound of ground sirloin with 3 cloves of garlic and add to the sauce. Simmer for another hour, then serve. I also like to use this as a baked spaghetti sauce. I layer mixed pasta and sauce in the bottom of a casserole dish, cover with sheets of mozzarella, more pasta and sauce, and top with mozzarella and grated parmagiana. DELICIOUS! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
The end result with this recipe is always really great, but I only gave it four stars because I made some changes that I feel make a difference. I cut the herbs in half (made it once as written and we were all picking basil out of our teeth). I also use just one can of paste, and a can of tomato sauce. Diced tomatoes instead of whole, and ground beef instead of sausage (Hubby prefers). Overall, I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Wow is this ever good! A couple years ago I made spaghetti sauce, it was awful! It was so bad that I went back to the jar sauce. But tonight I was in the mood for spaghetti, and didn't have any jar sauce, and couldn't get to the store. So I took a chance and decided one more time to try this homemade sauce. Glad I did. It truly is the best spaghetti sauce I've ever had, better even then what I have had in restaurants. It has a hearty taste and fresh taste. It's kind of hard to describe, it's so good. I did have to make a couple adjustments. I didn't have a can of whole tomatoes, so I used tomato sauce instead, and I only had one can of tomato paste, but that turned out good since the sauce was plenty thick. I had to keep adding water to it as it cooked down, so it wouldn't get too thick. I also had lots more garlic and onions, and a dash of Worstershire sauce. If your a little apprehensive about trying homemade spaghetti sauce, try this one. It is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is my favorite spaghetti sauce recipe! To make it lowfat, in addition to the onion & garlic, just chop up zucchini, yellow squash, celery, and a little bit of green pepper and sautee before adding the spices, tomato products and other ingrediets. Leave out the sausage and you've got an amazing lowfat sauce that freezes well and has an awesome taste. In my opinion, the red wine is essential as it makes the sauce have a smooth and velvety texture. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
this is a very easy to make yet delicious sauce. i usually use prego sauce from the jar when i need pasta sauce but this was so easy, i don't think i can ever justify buying the jarred variety again. i halved the recipe and used one 15 oz can of diced tomatoes (with italian seasonings) and one 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of paste (didn't have any). i also had to omit the red wine and pepper flakes (again, didn't have any on hand) and it turned out excellent. what a great recipe for basic spaghetti sauce. i looked at lots of other recipes for sauces and noticed that the higher rated ones always included dried basil, oregano and bay leaves. i loved that even with the changes i made, this recipe is foolproof enough to still be good! also, i cooked it in my slowcooker for 5 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This recipe turned out extremely well and my entire family raved about it. I chose to cook this in the slow cooker for 8 hours and POW! what a sauce it turned out to be. Very robust and thick, perfect for the crusty garlic bread we made with it for dipping. I didn't use sausage but made homemade meatballs instead and put some sauteed ground beef in there as well. The wine is what did it! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I'm so sorry, but I just could not like this. I had high hopes; it looked awesome, and it smelled wonderful! But after the first bite, bf asked me how much sugar was in it bc he thought it was too sweet. I thought it was too spicy, and not in a good way. I did make a few changes; used fresh tomatoes (boiled for a minute in water so I could easily peel off the skins), used a bit more garlic than normal,and eliminated the sausage, but I don't think those changes made the difference between loving it and hating it for me. I love thick sauce, and it made it thick, so I'm willing to try again, but without crushed red pepper or sugar. Neither of us liked those additions. Update: Tried this again, again with regular tomatoes I needed to use up. Eliminated the sugar and the crushed red pepper. Like it so much better without those two ingredients! I'll make it that way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious! This was my first try and I will never go back to a jar sauce again. The red wine definitely makes the sauce! I recommend using 1/3 the amount of red pepper flakes (I trippled the recipe) it came out a little on the hot side. Other than that I wouldn't change a thing and my mother made homemade sauce every Sunday. I made homemade meatballs instead of the sausage and served the parmesean garlic bread from this site on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I would give it more than 5 stars if I could!! This is exactly what I was looking for. It's a very tangy, robust, and thick (not watery) spaghetti sauce. I added about 1t. of salt and doubled the wine. I will never use any other spaghetti sauce again and next time I will make about 3x the recipe and freeze it in portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I was cooking for more people so I used 3 cans of tomato paste, 1 large can of whole tomatoes, and 1 large can of diced tomatoes. I like garlic and spices so used a little more of each. After I sauteed the onion...I put everything in the crockpot on low and let cook for 7-8 hours (just because I had the time...I have also done the same on high temp for 5-6 hours and it turned out just as good). This is SO easy and the BEST spaghetti sauce I have ever had...I will NEVER go back to jar sauce again. This can all be thrown together before you go to work...to cook all day. Love it!! Made this again tonight...didn't have red wine on hand so I added 1/4 cup of chard and added a little more white sugar and 2 tsp of brown sugar. This time I left out the whole tomatoes and used 2 cans of dices tomatoes (and 3 cans of paste). Cooked on the stove for 4 hours...still YUMMY!!! I served with pasta and chicken parmesan (also used the sauce to cover the chicken). My husband LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States