Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Very good and a new favorite at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Wow is this ever good! A couple years ago I made spaghetti sauce, it was awful! It was so bad that I went back to the jar sauce. But tonight I was in the mood for spaghetti, and didn't have any jar sauce, and couldn't get to the store. So I took a chance and decided one more time to try this homemade sauce. Glad I did. It truly is the best spaghetti sauce I've ever had, better even then what I have had in restaurants. It has a hearty taste and fresh taste. It's kind of hard to describe, it's so good. I did have to make a couple adjustments. I didn't have a can of whole tomatoes, so I used tomato sauce instead, and I only had one can of tomato paste, but that turned out good since the sauce was plenty thick. I had to keep adding water to it as it cooked down, so it wouldn't get too thick. I also had lots more garlic and onions, and a dash of Worstershire sauce. If your a little apprehensive about trying homemade spaghetti sauce, try this one. It is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I didn't care for the whole tomatoes so I cut them up instead and used some diced stewed tomatoes with it. I also used ground pork italian sausage instead of sausage links. This recipe turned out REALLY good. Kudos to the chef =) Not hard to make either. The key is to make sure you have at least 1 hour to let it simmer all the spices in for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
this is the first homemade sauce i made and it is pretty good. i didn't have any wine or meat and left those outa. i also used tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes. I have to water it down as it cooked. I also used dried garlic. Easy and Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Oh, was I popular with this one! This sauce is thick and delicious and practically cooks itself. I let this cook all afternoon while I was out in the garden. I used italian style stewed tomatoes (which made the job even easier). I threw in some baked meatballs (to avoid the addition of unnecessary fat) during the last 10 minutes of cooking. With split french rolls and some mozzarella cheese, this made the most incredible meatball sandwiches ever! The next day, even after the meatballs were gone, they were still fighting over the leftover sauce. I'll make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I made this and it was thick and not at all watery like some sauces can be, which I really liked. But even after adding the sugar, the sauce seemed rather acidic and just lacked something I couldn't quite put my finger on. I would rate this as a fair sauce, but not great. I am glad that I tried it, but honestly don't know that I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
This recipe is much better used as a pizza sauce since it is thick and strong. I doubled the wine (Mogan David concord grape), added a small can of tomato sauce and simmered until smooth. I freeze it in containers for single pizza size portions. It makes delicious pizza when paired with Jay's Signature Pizza Crust. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Great basic marinara recipe - simmering for that long really changes the flavour. I left out the onion & only put about 3/4 of a can of tomato paste - it just seemed too much too thick to put 2 cans in. Will definitely make a double batch next time & freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This recipe turned out extremely well and my entire family raved about it. I chose to cook this in the slow cooker for 8 hours and POW! what a sauce it turned out to be. Very robust and thick, perfect for the crusty garlic bread we made with it for dipping. I didn't use sausage but made homemade meatballs instead and put some sauteed ground beef in there as well. The wine is what did it! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
FanTAStic. My husband, who doesn't even like spaghetti, had 2 servings & we all fought for the leftovers. Restaurant worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States