Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I thought this sauce was pretty sweet. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written too. I think I would leave out the sugar and the wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was a 5 star sauce with some modifications. I only used 1 tsp each of the dried herbs b/c I have heard that dried herbs are much more intense in flavor. I added another tsp of sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt and used Marsala wine, which I think helped counterbalance the acidity. I did have to thin out the sauce a few times as it simmered. I'm guessing it was around 3 cups of extra liquid over the 3 hrs of cook time and it was the perfect consistency. Just add as you go until you get the sauce where you want it. I used a can of chicken broth to add flavor and another cup of water. I substituted ground sirloin for the sausage and the meat was very tender. This is a delicious sauce! Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Not overly impressed, but it was good, definately better then store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
made this for a party and everyone raved about it. Perfect sauce and I will make again. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I hate to leave negative reviews, but I did not like this sauce. It was very bitter and acidic. I had to add some salt, as it just wasn't flavorful. I won't make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Delicious and easy. I did add some red peppers, used ground beef, and since I don't use wine and didn't have any appropriate substitutions I used chicken broth instead of wine. The sauce was very good and a little too thick (probably because of 2 lbs of ground beef) that I added an extra 14 oz of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was amazing.....I had to make a few changes because I didn't expect the cans of whole tomatoes in my pantry to be 3 years past their expiration date, but I took some tips from another reviewer and then improvised from there. For the tomato products I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes with Italian herbs, three 8 oz cans of tomato sauce (one 28 oz would have worked), and one 6oz can of tomato paste. I dislike tomato chunks, so the crushed tomatos worked out perfect for me. I sauteed the garlic and onions in the oil and tossed the 1/4 cup of wine (Shiraz) to reduce a bit. I had to run errands and didn't have time to babysit the stove, so I threw everything in a crock pot (except for the meat) and let it simmer for the two hours I was gone. When I came back, I sauteed a tsp of minced garlic, added 1lbs of ground pork to the sautee pan, and just to make the cooking experience divine, I added a cup of the sauce to the pork just as it started to brown. Subbing ground beef or ground turkey would be fine, I just have a lot of pork I need to use! When the pork was cooked through I added it to the crock pot and let it cook for another hour, stirring as needed. I had the crock pot on high with the lid off and a splatter screen on when I was home, on low and covered when I wasn't. If using the crock pot, give yourself a little extra time as the low setting takes longer to get the sauce up to temp than a stove does. Maybe consider preheating the tomato products in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Don't know what all the raves are about. I didn't find this any better than my usual $1 can of Hunts in which I add hamburger, onion, and other spices to. Won't make this again. It's not awful, but isn't stellar either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Our new go-to sauce! I only used one can of tomato paste and used one 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and one 28 oz can of tomato sauce. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
So I tried my hand at this recipe and absolutely loved it! My family ate EVERYTHING. I didn't know which red wine to use so I just used Stella Rosa and used fresh basil and oregano, and halved the dry basil/oregano. Also used sea salt and a tad bit of peppercorn. I also used fire roasted tomatoes instead of peeled tomatoes and 1 (6oz) can of tomato sauce. For the meat, I used 96/4 ground beef and sauted it soy sauce, granulated garlic and onion, sea salt and pepper. Turned out prefect once you mix both! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States