Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Yum! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by braveleesy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very good sauce but it was too thick and it was going to burn. I had to add 1 can of 28 oz water. I also added 1 teaspoon of salt. Everything else is the same. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Next time leave out raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was an excellent sauce. I used authentic italian sausage from The Hill in St. Louis and added a Tbls of fennel seed, which is an exciting addition to spaghetti sauce. Also added half a bell pepper and a some fresh mushrooms. All I can say is, WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
As written, I'm not sure I would like this recipe, but I knew it had potential. Instead of Italian sausage, I opted for the healthier Italian-seasoned ground turkey. I crumbled and browned it with the onion and garlic and let it simmer in the sauce for a couple of hours. I also added 8 oz. sliced fresh mushrooms. I left out the sugar and used plenty of fresh ground black pepper instead of the red pepper flakes. I cut the amount of herbs in half. I like the thickness the sauce has with the addition of the tomato paste. It's a very hearty sauce and the splash of red wine is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I thought this sauce was pretty sweet. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written too. I think I would leave out the sugar and the wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was a 5 star sauce with some modifications. I only used 1 tsp each of the dried herbs b/c I have heard that dried herbs are much more intense in flavor. I added another tsp of sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt and used Marsala wine, which I think helped counterbalance the acidity. I did have to thin out the sauce a few times as it simmered. I'm guessing it was around 3 cups of extra liquid over the 3 hrs of cook time and it was the perfect consistency. Just add as you go until you get the sauce where you want it. I used a can of chicken broth to add flavor and another cup of water. I substituted ground sirloin for the sausage and the meat was very tender. This is a delicious sauce! Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Not overly impressed, but it was good, definately better then store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
made this for a party and everyone raved about it. Perfect sauce and I will make again. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I hate to leave negative reviews, but I did not like this sauce. It was very bitter and acidic. I had to add some salt, as it just wasn't flavorful. I won't make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States