Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This sauce was excellent. I doubled the garlic, cut up the whole tomatoes, added extra red pepper flakes and fresh black pepper, and added fresh parsley and sauteed mushrooms in butter. I omitted the sausage as I make my own meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Spaghetti Sauce II Haiku: "Pretty darn good sauce. Glad I added the sausage. I barely changed it." I only had 1 can of tom. paste, so I added tom. sauce, along w/ a handful of chopped bell pepper in addition to the onions. Smelled great simmering, and I tossed in the optional Italian sausage that I'd cut into bite-size pieces and browned. I like that this sauce clung to the noodles and wasn't watery. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Yum! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by braveleesy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very good sauce but it was too thick and it was going to burn. I had to add 1 can of 28 oz water. I also added 1 teaspoon of salt. Everything else is the same. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Next time leave out raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was an excellent sauce. I used authentic italian sausage from The Hill in St. Louis and added a Tbls of fennel seed, which is an exciting addition to spaghetti sauce. Also added half a bell pepper and a some fresh mushrooms. All I can say is, WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
As written, I'm not sure I would like this recipe, but I knew it had potential. Instead of Italian sausage, I opted for the healthier Italian-seasoned ground turkey. I crumbled and browned it with the onion and garlic and let it simmer in the sauce for a couple of hours. I also added 8 oz. sliced fresh mushrooms. I left out the sugar and used plenty of fresh ground black pepper instead of the red pepper flakes. I cut the amount of herbs in half. I like the thickness the sauce has with the addition of the tomato paste. It's a very hearty sauce and the splash of red wine is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I thought this sauce was pretty sweet. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written too. I think I would leave out the sugar and the wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was a 5 star sauce with some modifications. I only used 1 tsp each of the dried herbs b/c I have heard that dried herbs are much more intense in flavor. I added another tsp of sugar, 1/2 tsp of salt and used Marsala wine, which I think helped counterbalance the acidity. I did have to thin out the sauce a few times as it simmered. I'm guessing it was around 3 cups of extra liquid over the 3 hrs of cook time and it was the perfect consistency. Just add as you go until you get the sauce where you want it. I used a can of chicken broth to add flavor and another cup of water. I substituted ground sirloin for the sausage and the meat was very tender. This is a delicious sauce! Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Not overly impressed, but it was good, definately better then store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States