Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This has been my go to recipe for sauce. The family refuses to eat anything else. Some people said that it was too bitter. It depends on what tomato base you are using. I used fresh from the garden and it was very bitter. Sugar can be -/+ depending on what you are using. Also, this is a let it simmer kinda recipe. I usually let it simmer for about 4hrs+. The less it simmers the less the flavors combine together, which can give the impression of "salsa" that others have mentioned. Never had it be too sweet, so not sure what's going on there. Basically...taste test at various stages of cooking. You can always adjust while it's still in the pot, but not so much once on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I loved the smell while it was cooking and it also looked inviting. However, when I tasted it it was too sweet and it needed salt. I didn't add salt because the recipe didn't say anything about adding salt. I'm just learning how to cook and wouldn't know how much salt to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
The best sauce ever. I actually think it's better than my Italian Dad's "gravy"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga Chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is overwhelmingly good. I used this as a base and added more sugar, homemade onion soup mix, chicken broth instead of wine, lots more garlic and skipped the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
It was great! I cooked the onions and garlic in olive oil first, then added all the ingredients. Also, cooked a pound of beef ( ground beef) and 1/2 lbs of ground turkey ... Cooked with garlic ( 3cloves). Put only 1/4 sugar and 1/4 crushed red peppers. Everyone looooved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This was pretty good. It was a little sweet/acidic for me - I think next time I'll cut the tomato paste in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Loved it. I didn't have an onion, so I used celery. Also used hamburger instead of sausage. Perfect for my taste, but I can't wait to try it with onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is my absolute "go to" recipe for spaghetti sauce! I've made it so many times, sometimes using ground beef, sometimes sausage, sometimes just vegetables. It's always flavorful and so much better than any bottled sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Okay. I agree with other posters. Too much basil. Although, next time I may try fresh basil (and less of it) and add some thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Very good sauce. I found that the amount of tomatoes was too much for my family. I used one 14.5 oz can per pound and that was too much. Next time will try with one can per 2 pounds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States