Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Love it, this is the best recipe for spaghetti sauce I have found. I did everything the recipe called for, except I used ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I love this recipe; it's easy and the flavor is great. My only complaint--and the reason for which I am giving it four out of five stars--is that it always comes out too thick. I would suggest filling the empty tomato can with water after you've emptied it and pouring that in while it simmers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
pretty easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is a very hearty sauce. Wonderful flavor. I added fresh mushrooms, more water through the cooking, and left out the sugar. It was great. This will be my recipe for spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
The onion I used was GINORMOUS and I doubled the garlic (we like A LOT of garlic) and I used organic canned tomatoes/tomato paste. I had some organic red peppers I had to use so I threw them in to saute with the onion and garlic before adding the other ingredients. I did have to add a little more red wine as the sauce was a little on the thick side. After making it late this afternoon and letting it simmer, I do think it needs a little more of the spices before serving. I did not add the italian sausage (it was optional--so I opted out this time) because I did make Mixture for Meatballs, Meatloaf or Burgers to go in this sauce. Next time I make this sauce, I'll try it with a good italian sausage as I think it would be quite tasty, especially as a layer in lasagna. Very easy and I agree with the submitter--the longer it simmers, the better it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was good. I did have to add some water during the simmering time. I also added some mushrooms. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
As with many others, I gave this five stars because it is a great starter recipe. I had to doctor this up throughout the cooking process (simmered for 3 hours as called for) by adding equal parts of water and red wine. I also added sugar throughout as we like our sauce tangy with a sweet aftertaste. I added a sweet yellow pepper and mushrooms to give it more "meat" since I was not using the sausage (was using for chicken parm). After about cooking for an hour I mashed the tomatoes to make the consistency more "choppy". Overall a great recipe as is, I just doctored up for personal preference taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I have a recipe for spaghetti sauce that has been in my Italian family for years. It's really delicious, but I wanted to try something different and something that wouldn't take all day as the family recipe does. This was fantastic and quick!!! I didn't change a thing, which is really unusual for me, and it was perfect! I served it over my Chicken Parmesan (so I added no meat to the sauce) for a dinner party over the holidays and it was a big hit! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Good hearty sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Since I made this sauce 3 years ago, I have no need for any other sauce recipe. It Rocks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States