Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was a catastrophe....I will NEVER get away with using sauce from a jar again! I cooked this for eight hours in the Crock Pot, and it was absolute perfection. Thick, flavorful, and as one person put it...."you can tell this is homemade; in a good way!" I doubled the recipe and it was the perfect amount to make Baked Ziti I from this site, which has been a family favorite for a while. Using this sauce and some good imported Italian noodles made it a completely different dish. I never thought I would make homemade spaghetti sauce; I can't wait to surprise the family with it at our big holiday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was really good... Next time I will cut back on the onions though, there was way too much for my taste. Also, I added a can of tomato sauce to it. The girlfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Geez more that 3hrs thou. I got work to do. I tried it for 45min. It's okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was a great starter recipe for me. What I love about this website is the reviews other people put and after I read a few of them I made some adjustments. One, I don't like the taste of tomato paste so I only use one can of that and because of that I only one or two TEASPOONS of sugar not a tablespoon. And I don't add crushed red pepper either but with my adjustments I really really enjoy this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Oh my goodness, I accidentally raited the wrong recipe! This is the one that I meant to give five stars and that my family loved! Here is what I wrote, about THIS sauce! This is an excellent sauce. My husband is Turkish and dislikes the sauces from a jar that I will grab to make a fast meal. In Turkey they "cook by the season" so sauces are freshly made and prepared at home most of the time. The other day I got a great find at the farmer's market;a whole box of just past ripe tomatoes for only $3. They were at the point that they were juicy but would not be good in a salad or for slicing so I peeled, seeded and chopped what came to a full gallon bag of fresh tomatoes. I used two large onions, extra garlic, added some fresh oregano that the owner of the market threw in and a tbsp of thyme (my hubby's favorite herb). I also kept the tomato paste, but that was the only thing canned. At the end we added two pounds of lean ground beef. It fed us all and left two quarts for freezing the next time we have spaghetti. I will definitely be making this again and using canned tomatoes in a pinch, but I truly recommend using fresh tomatoes if you can. It is so worth the effort for the amazing flavor! (For this recipe I'd guess 6-8 tomatoes would do the trick!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Good recipe, I only made some minor changes. I add a half cup chopped bell pepper to the garlic and onions, and I use stewed tomatoes instead of whole ( 2 cans ). I also use fresh basil instead of dried and a little extra sugar. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Firstly, I sauteed the garlic (twice what the recipe called for) and onion and deglazed the pan with red wine. Then I added the remaining ingredients. I ended up adding 4 vine tomatoes (seeds scraped out) as well as 2 bell peppers, roughly chopped. The spice level was just right for us, but we like it on the spicier side (I added a heaping 1/4 tsp). I also added about 1/2 cup of water, since it seemed a touch chunky. After 3 hours of simmering I pulsed three-quarters of it in my blender to smooth it out. It ended up with a consistency similar to a thicker jar sauce. This is an excellent base recipe that you can easily adapt to suit your tastes. It's super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This sauce was so good, I had to join this site so that I could rate it. My family loved it. I have never made sauce on my own before and this was the perfect one to start with. Next time I'll have to double the recipe so that we'll have enough for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really good...I doubled the wine, and halfed the basil. I cooked in the slow cooker for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States