Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Oh my goodness, I accidentally raited the wrong recipe! This is the one that I meant to give five stars and that my family loved! Here is what I wrote, about THIS sauce! This is an excellent sauce. My husband is Turkish and dislikes the sauces from a jar that I will grab to make a fast meal. In Turkey they "cook by the season" so sauces are freshly made and prepared at home most of the time. The other day I got a great find at the farmer's market;a whole box of just past ripe tomatoes for only $3. They were at the point that they were juicy but would not be good in a salad or for slicing so I peeled, seeded and chopped what came to a full gallon bag of fresh tomatoes. I used two large onions, extra garlic, added some fresh oregano that the owner of the market threw in and a tbsp of thyme (my hubby's favorite herb). I also kept the tomato paste, but that was the only thing canned. At the end we added two pounds of lean ground beef. It fed us all and left two quarts for freezing the next time we have spaghetti. I will definitely be making this again and using canned tomatoes in a pinch, but I truly recommend using fresh tomatoes if you can. It is so worth the effort for the amazing flavor! (For this recipe I'd guess 6-8 tomatoes would do the trick!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Good recipe, I only made some minor changes. I add a half cup chopped bell pepper to the garlic and onions, and I use stewed tomatoes instead of whole ( 2 cans ). I also use fresh basil instead of dried and a little extra sugar. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Firstly, I sauteed the garlic (twice what the recipe called for) and onion and deglazed the pan with red wine. Then I added the remaining ingredients. I ended up adding 4 vine tomatoes (seeds scraped out) as well as 2 bell peppers, roughly chopped. The spice level was just right for us, but we like it on the spicier side (I added a heaping 1/4 tsp). I also added about 1/2 cup of water, since it seemed a touch chunky. After 3 hours of simmering I pulsed three-quarters of it in my blender to smooth it out. It ended up with a consistency similar to a thicker jar sauce. This is an excellent base recipe that you can easily adapt to suit your tastes. It's super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This sauce was so good, I had to join this site so that I could rate it. My family loved it. I have never made sauce on my own before and this was the perfect one to start with. Next time I'll have to double the recipe so that we'll have enough for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Really good...I doubled the wine, and halfed the basil. I cooked in the slow cooker for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I have made this several times. It is incredibly good when simmered as directed. I cook bulk sausage meat and throw it into the mix for the last hour; other than that, skipping the sugar, and making sure to use San Marzano tomatoes, I follow the recipe. Wonderful. My siblings and I have been trying to find a sauce to replace the one our mother used to make and we couldn't get enough of. None of us can reproduce it anymore but this one will do nicely as the new "gold standard." To paraphrase some famous London Underground graffiti from the '60s, "Connery is God." :-) Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
My husband made this from video...great sauce/even better than his mom's! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe. I did substitute the whole tomatoes with dice and used 1 can of tomato sauce and only 1 can of paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very good..will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States