Spaghetti Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Boris
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Oh so thick and rich. It is a little sweet so if you don't like it sweet eliminate the sugar or cut it back. I went to put the wine in but all I had left in the cabinet was a Plum wine. I thought, heck, plums look like grapes on steroids so let me through that in. Still good. I made some meatballs with ground beef and hot italian sausage, browned up about ten in a frying pan then put them in the sauce to finish cooking. The rest of the meatballs I put in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
My only child loooooooooves spaghetti. I have always made sauces from scratch, but it was always "a little of this, a little of that," whatever I had on hand, as far as canned tomato products (diced, stewed, sauce, paste). And I'd throw in sweet peppers, zucchini, mushrooms, any vegetable sitting around that might reasonably work in a spaghetti sauce. I even used my hand blender to try to hide veggies from my daughter when she was little. Haha. (She told me in her mid-teens that I wasn't fooling anybody.). Anyway, I now find myself an empty nester... my baby has moved out. I'm going to visit her for the holiday weekend and wanted to assemble a care package. Naturally, any care package would have to include spaghetti sauce. I looked around for a recipe, to see how other people make (legit?) home-made sauce, and this was one of the best rated... and it sounded pretty good. Simple. So I tried it, it's been simmering for about 2-1/2 hours so far. I followed the ingredients and method almost exactly-I didn't have a whole onion, so I supplemented with green pepper, I used cranberry flower honey instead of white sugar, and I added a little thyme along with the second Tbsp basil. I am loving the samples I'm taking every time I stir, deeper flavor every time. I'm sure my daughter will love this and feel a warm embrace from home any time she pulls one of the jars out of the freezer... along with Chef John's Italian Meatballs, which I'm making as an accompaniment. Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I used 2 cans paste1 can sauce, 1 can diced tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Me and my family loved this recipe, but I did make some of my own adjustments. I also decided to cook this in the crockpot all day. I sauted the onion and garlic in a fry pan and I also added about 2/3 cup of diced green, red and yellow peppers. Once those were softened I added a pound of ground bison and cooked that until done. I then placed everything in the crockpot and added the remainder of the ingredients. I used two cans of diced tomatoes with garlic and basil instead of the whole tomatoes and I also added a bit more red wine. I started the recipe late in the day, so I cooked it on high for about 3 1/2 hours and then mixed it up with whole wheat spaghetti noodles and added a bit of salt to taste. This was amazing, but even better on day two. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is my "go to" spaghetti sauce recipe. My husband and I don't care much for spaghetti but our kids love it so I try to make it occasionally. This is a good recipe. It's the only one I use. I don't measure my ingredients but I haven't modified anything that goes in it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McNeece Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saucier, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I will NEVER get away with using sauce from a jar again! I cooked this for eight hours in the Crock Pot, and it was absolute perfection. Thick, flavorful, and as one person put it...."you can tell this is homemade; in a good way!" I doubled the recipe and it was the perfect amount to make Baked Ziti I from this site, which has been a family favorite for a while. Using this sauce and some good imported Italian noodles made it a completely different dish. I never thought I would make homemade spaghetti sauce; I can't wait to surprise the family with it at our big holiday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This was really good... Next time I will cut back on the onions though, there was way too much for my taste. Also, I added a can of tomato sauce to it. The girlfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Geez more that 3hrs thou. I got work to do. I tried it for 45min. It's okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was a great starter recipe for me. What I love about this website is the reviews other people put and after I read a few of them I made some adjustments. One, I don't like the taste of tomato paste so I only use one can of that and because of that I only one or two TEASPOONS of sugar not a tablespoon. And I don't add crushed red pepper either but with my adjustments I really really enjoy this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Oh my goodness, I accidentally raited the wrong recipe! This is the one that I meant to give five stars and that my family loved! Here is what I wrote, about THIS sauce! This is an excellent sauce. My husband is Turkish and dislikes the sauces from a jar that I will grab to make a fast meal. In Turkey they "cook by the season" so sauces are freshly made and prepared at home most of the time. The other day I got a great find at the farmer's market;a whole box of just past ripe tomatoes for only $3. They were at the point that they were juicy but would not be good in a salad or for slicing so I peeled, seeded and chopped what came to a full gallon bag of fresh tomatoes. I used two large onions, extra garlic, added some fresh oregano that the owner of the market threw in and a tbsp of thyme (my hubby's favorite herb). I also kept the tomato paste, but that was the only thing canned. At the end we added two pounds of lean ground beef. It fed us all and left two quarts for freezing the next time we have spaghetti. I will definitely be making this again and using canned tomatoes in a pinch, but I truly recommend using fresh tomatoes if you can. It is so worth the effort for the amazing flavor! (For this recipe I'd guess 6-8 tomatoes would do the trick!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States