Spaghetti Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Oh my, this may be the best recipe I've gotten off of allrecipes.com! I made it today for out of town guests and they all raved about it (including my friend's 7 year old daughter). It was so easy to put together, I'd recommend this dish anytime you have to feed 6-8 people and don't want to be chained to the kitchen for hours. Like others, I made changes, but I think the secrets are to use really good pasta sauce and reducing the cheddar cheese by adding an equal amount of Italian blend shredded cheese. My guest commented immediately the about the cheese. For the sauce, I used a high-end brand of tomato-basil sauce. Look for any brand that doesn't have preservatives or ingredients that you can't pronounce. I used ~36 ounces of sauce and a little less pasta (~14 oz.). Even using a good sauce, TASTE it as you are cooking to see if the flavor is to your liking. I added additional basil, rosemary and a little bit of red pepper flakes, but this all depends upon your palate. Also, I added 1/3 of a cup of ricotta cheese to the sour cream/cream cheese blend and used chive cream cheese instead of chopping green onions. Instead of cooking spray, I mixed butter into the hot pasta to keep it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NolaDiva

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made this for a large crowd and everyone loved it. Switched out the spaghetti for rigatoni noodles, added some ricotta cheese to the cream cheese and sour cream (omitted the green onions and green peppers) and used 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 italian sausage. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Very good recipe. Loved the sour cream and cream cheese blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This dish was super easy to make. I used a whole block of cream cheese and 1 cup of sour cream and mixed it right in with the pasta. This is super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This excellent..a short cut I use is to use Italian Sausage instead of the ground beef and all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Rawson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I had high hopes as this got great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly as written. It is edible, but my entire family thought it was too bland. Just boring. Won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Good, but no one really liked the sour cream/cream cheese mixture. Maybe try cream soup instead. do not use too much spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I about had a heart attack when I couldn't find this recipe in my recipe box!!! Thank God I found it again.. The only thing I do different is use 2 jars of sauce and use mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar cheese. I also add the sour cream/cream cheese mixture and half the sauce mixture to the noodles and then put in the pan then top with the rest of the sauce and mozzarella cheese. This is the BEST!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Made this today on a whim,it was GREAT!! The only thing I would change is mixing the cream cheese and sour cream with the noodles, instead of layering it on top of noodles. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

Basic Baked Spaghetti

See how to make a simple weeknight favorite.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States