Spaghetti Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was excellent. It had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Yummy! I ate a whole plateful!! Only minor changes based on reviews and what my guys like. I added smoked sausage with the beef and 2 cans of sauce. I added a little grated parmesan to the sour cream/cream cheese mixture and mixed directly with noodles. I also layered mine, putting half the pasta on the bottom, then half the sauce, a little cheddar, then the other half of the pasta, sauce, then the remaining cheddar (I used less cheddar cause it was extra sharp- great for dieters who still want cheese). Baked according to directions and it was great! Will definitely make again because plain spaghetti gets so boring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was delicious! I was apprehensive about the cheddar cheese, but I'm glad I followed the recipe...great spasagna. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
My family really enjoyed this recipe. I added about 4 TBSP of butter and 1/4 Cup of Parmesean Cheese to the noodles before baking to keep them from drying out. Next time I think I will double the cream cheese portion in the middle, it was my favorite part. I will also add more sauce and meat. Less Pasta might work too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
My hubby loved this. I used about 1/2 the amount of spaghetti and used a spicy pasta sauce. I added 1/2 a sweet onion, diced up, (instead of green onion) and sautéed for about 5 minutes in the pan after I browned the ground beef. Then I added a heaping teaspoon of minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. I also poured a little red wine in with the pasta sauce. I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and I used all parmesan cheese and left out the cheddar. Instead of layering it, I mixed everything together and it was delicious. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
My son told my I could never make just plain spaghetti again after I made this spaghetti pie. I used some left over spaghetti noodles for the pasta base. I did add a couple of whisked eggs that poured over the pasta before I added the rest of the ingredients just to bind them together. I also used sausage instead of ground beef to give it a little extra flavor. I had to add a little more time than what the recipe called for because it wasn't bubbling yet, but I might have had more left over pasta than what the recipe called for. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I have made this many times, but I use penne pasta instead. It definitely can be made healthier with fat free sour cream and cream cheese, and I even toss some diced carrots and tomatoes in with the ground beef while it's browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
So yummy! I left the meat out and kept everything else the same and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Really good. A different take on spaghetti for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Oh my, this may be the best recipe I've gotten off of allrecipes.com! I made it today for out of town guests and they all raved about it (including my friend's 7 year old daughter). It was so easy to put together, I'd recommend this dish anytime you have to feed 6-8 people and don't want to be chained to the kitchen for hours. Like others, I made changes, but I think the secrets are to use really good pasta sauce and reducing the cheddar cheese by adding an equal amount of Italian blend shredded cheese. My guest commented immediately the about the cheese. For the sauce, I used a high-end brand of tomato-basil sauce. Look for any brand that doesn't have preservatives or ingredients that you can't pronounce. I used ~36 ounces of sauce and a little less pasta (~14 oz.). Even using a good sauce, TASTE it as you are cooking to see if the flavor is to your liking. I added additional basil, rosemary and a little bit of red pepper flakes, but this all depends upon your palate. Also, I added 1/3 of a cup of ricotta cheese to the sour cream/cream cheese blend and used chive cream cheese instead of chopping green onions. Instead of cooking spray, I mixed butter into the hot pasta to keep it from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NolaDiva

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Basic Baked Spaghetti

See how to make a simple weeknight favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States