Spaghetti Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I made this for my coworkers, who all raved. I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage, and I think I liked it better that way. Plus, I made too much spaghetti, so I layered it in a 13 x 9 pan instead of a pie pan, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
YUM! This recipe ROCKS! I've been making a very similar version of this one for at least 30 years now. It's such a unique twist on a way to use up spaghetti. It always comes out tasting great and as for presentation, well let's just say it gets lots of "OOhs & Aahs"... Especially when you serve it to someone who's not heard of it before. I would strongly suggest cooking it in the 10 inch glass pyrex pie plate rather than changing it up to a 9 x 13 baking pan. This was the original way it was intended and though I have tried it both ways, I think the "Pie" version makes for a better presentation. Add this one to your archives; I doubt you'll be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I made this for dinner last night and it was great! Of course, I changed it a little. Instead of spaghetti noodles, I used angel hair pasta and made it in a 9x13 pan. I don't like the texture of cottage cheese, and didn't have any ricotta, so I put the cottage cheese in a food processor and mixed it with some dried basil, garlic powder and a pinch of salt until it was smooth. I used frozen cocktail meatballs instead of ground beef and a jar of Ragu. I cooked it for about 35 minutes. Everyone enjoyed it and it was very simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I have been making this for years. Although, i mix all of the spaghetti with the sauce and pour 1/2 of spaghetti into pan, add cheese mixture, then top with rest of spaghetti and then add cheese topping. Makes spaghetti not so dry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I love this recipe, but I am a low maintenance, jar of this, box of that type cook. I use pasta, sauce, eggs, ricotta, butter, parmesan, mozzarella, and ground beef. I used three eggs. Be sure not to mix them too quickly with the hot pasta or they will scramble. After making that mistake once I learned to temper the eggs first with a little pasta at a time. The egg makes the pasta taste so hearty…yummy! My mom used to make this all the time in her big 13 x 9 glass pan…memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Leiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
We loved this! I made a double recipe in a large Pyrex so we would have leftovers. I added a mixture of cheddar and mozzarella on top and covered it with foil before baking as we are cheese lovers. I also substituted Ricotta for the cottage cheese. I can't wait to heat up the leftovers! Served it with crusty garlic bread and fresh fruit-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarsonMaciMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
DH was asking for the spaghetti pie I used to make when we were first married, and I couldn’t find my recipe. This is the closest I could find, and really good! Better than what I used to make, according to my DH. I used lean ground turkey instead of the beef. I doubled the recipe and cooked in a 9x13 pan, because we wanted leftovers. I seasoned the turkey with a little seasoned salt while it was cooking with the garlic, onion and tomato to add flavor. I used store- brand jarred spaghetti sauce instead of the canned tomatoes & paste, and added 1/2 of a 4-ounce can of tomato sauce to spaghetti sauce while it was cooking, so it wouldn't be too dry. I also seasoned it with a little oregano and crushed red pepper. The only other thing I changed was to use 3 eggs instead of 4 (the doubled amount) in the noodle mixture, and I blended the cottage cheese in the blender so there weren't any large curds, because DH doesn't like cottage cheese. I also cooked it for about 30 minutes before adding the cheese. It may be because my oven doesn’t get hot enough, Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb1175

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Excellent flavor! As a second-generation Italian, I believe fervently in the virtues of ricotta in Italian dishes. After all, cottage cheese doesn't exist in Italy. Now, having made this with ricotta, as well as cottage cheese, I can assert that the cottage cheese makes for a better dish! We like the slight tang that's absent in ricotta, which is quite bland. After all, spaghetti pie isn't a genuine Italian dish - it's an American invention, so it's best not to apply preconceived notions to it. The one objection I had to overcome is that the cottage cheese isn't aesthetically pleasing. In the short baking time given, it can't melt enough to get rid of the curds. You know right away that cottage cheese was used when you cut it. For some, that might be off-putting. But that little problem can be overcome with one additional, simple step. Process the cottage cheese in the food processor for a minute before adding it to the recipe. This way, you'll get that intriguing, tasty result, and your plate won't be covered in unsightly curds. Additionally, I've made this as a meatless meal, as well, using only a chunky, homemade tomato sauce, and layered it with mushrooms and spinach. I used homemade spinach pasta for that one. Great presentation! Be sure to cook your spaghetti in salted water (or add some salt when you mix it with the eggs/butter/Parmesan) to avoid blandness. Fantastic any way you choose to serve it up. But give the pureed cottage cheese a try - you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2000
Tastes like lasagna with a spaghetti twist! We liked it. Great for making ahead (before kids sports games) and popping in the oven when getting home. Next time, I will use spaghetti sauce in place of the tomato paste and tomatoes to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
Oh so delicious. This is the definition of what great comfort food should be. Thank you Jennifer. Can't wait until my husband returns from Iraq so I can make this for him. He's going to be a very happy soldier. It only gets better. I've been eating left overs for a few days and still outstanding. You will not be dissappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Spaghetti Pie

Turn squash into spaghetti for a delicious dish even non-Paleo friends will love!

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Basic Baked Spaghetti

See how to make a simple weeknight favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States