Spaghetti Italian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This sauce was amazing! My friend raved over the smell when she came in my front door. She said it smelled like "real sauce". When she tasted it her exact words "It's just right. Not to sweet and not to spicy". I will definitely make this again. My one suggestion would be to make sure you use the Italian Sausage, I don't think it would be as good with out the extra kick from the seasonings of the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This recipe is THE best! I had a similar experience as the last person who commented...my boyfriend walked in the door and said he could smell the sauce from outside our home and that it smelled fanstastic. I stayed completely true to the recipe except for a couple of things-which were only due to personal preference. I used 1 lb of ground beef instead of sausage and added half of a chopped white onion while seasoning beef. Also added 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes that gave the sauce a small zing. We LOVED it and both agreed this recipe will be a staple in our home. Thank you so much for submitting this :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly DFW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was a very good sauce. I used a whole pound of sausage, because I had a pound in the freezer that I wanted to use. Great flavor. I used fresh basil and oregano, but added those at the end. I did add some dried in the beginning. Also used 3 cloves fresh garlic, and some dried onion. I used two larger cans of tomato sauce (14 oz?) instead of the smaller ones and one can was no-salt-added. This sauce was still a little too salty for me, probably because of the evaporated liquid during the long simmer. The long simmer is essential though (I did a little over an hour) to develop that great thick texture and great flavor. Mine got a little too thick, so I added a splash of water at the end. Served over whole-wheat spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Guynell
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
this is some really good tasteing spaghetti and a little spicy.I used the "hot" italian sausage--very good and I would highly recomend it and I give it five stars--very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Wow, this recipe is amazing. I found it better than restaurant quality! Only one thing I changed was using minced beef, instead of Italian sausage, and adding finely cut red onion. Although the original yield probably serves about 4, I find that I can't help but eat about 1.5 servings so probably better to increase the amounts :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This sauce was surprisingly good! All I did was add some rosemary, doubled the garlic powder and added a pinch of brown sugar. Served over thin spaghetti with garlic toast and a caesar salad. I will make this recipe again... we scarfed it down! Thank you, Foxworth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Everyone loves this recipe. I use it exactly as shown, but use the italian diced tomatoes with spices. I also use a crock pot and cook for 4 - 6 hours and it turns out absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Had to add a pinch of sugar so it didnt taste so acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I rarely follow a recipe to a "Tee," but this time I did. I don't think this could serve 6 people. My family of 4 are not big eaters, but there was not enough for us 2 adults and 2 children. I let it simmer for nearly 3 hours (having to turn it off from the "low" setting,) several times. The sauce turned out rather thick. The flavors were very good though. Because of the thickness we did have to add just regular jar sauce. I did rate this following the recipe before adding the jar sauce. Thanks for sharing and I will try again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was okay, but not the wonderful sause I was expecting. The more I try to add to it to fix it, the worse it becomes. I tried adding fresh basil, brown sugar, garlic powder, parsley....it just isn't very good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States