Spaghetti Italian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Guynell
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
this is some really good tasteing spaghetti and a little spicy.I used the "hot" italian sausage--very good and I would highly recomend it and I give it five stars--very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I rarely follow a recipe to a "Tee," but this time I did. I don't think this could serve 6 people. My family of 4 are not big eaters, but there was not enough for us 2 adults and 2 children. I let it simmer for nearly 3 hours (having to turn it off from the "low" setting,) several times. The sauce turned out rather thick. The flavors were very good though. Because of the thickness we did have to add just regular jar sauce. I did rate this following the recipe before adding the jar sauce. Thanks for sharing and I will try again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This sauce was surprisingly good! All I did was add some rosemary, doubled the garlic powder and added a pinch of brown sugar. Served over thin spaghetti with garlic toast and a caesar salad. I will make this recipe again... we scarfed it down! Thank you, Foxworth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was a very good sauce. I used a whole pound of sausage, because I had a pound in the freezer that I wanted to use. Great flavor. I used fresh basil and oregano, but added those at the end. I did add some dried in the beginning. Also used 3 cloves fresh garlic, and some dried onion. I used two larger cans of tomato sauce (14 oz?) instead of the smaller ones and one can was no-salt-added. This sauce was still a little too salty for me, probably because of the evaporated liquid during the long simmer. The long simmer is essential though (I did a little over an hour) to develop that great thick texture and great flavor. Mine got a little too thick, so I added a splash of water at the end. Served over whole-wheat spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Excellent sauce! I don't know how to stray from an original recipe the first time out so this was to the letter. Definitely a "simmer all day" sauce but would have been good to go after about 90 minutes. Only change/add I would make would be to add some crushed red pepper for a little "kick."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I loved this sauce. I added a pinch of red pepper flakes and slices of red bell pepper. I used mild Italian sausage links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Filled the house with great aroma, I did sub a little thyme for the bay leaf since we don't like. Turned out wonderful. Thanks for a great post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This sauce was amazing! My friend raved over the smell when she came in my front door. She said it smelled like "real sauce". When she tasted it her exact words "It's just right. Not to sweet and not to spicy". I will definitely make this again. My one suggestion would be to make sure you use the Italian Sausage, I don't think it would be as good with out the extra kick from the seasonings of the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This recipe was excellent. It had the perfect amount of seasoning, and the italian sausage was wonderful in it! I have never made a home made sauce before, but this turned out better than i had anticipated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
Not sure whether I should be *rating* this. I didn't have any Italian sausage, and so tried to season regular sausage until it "smelled" like Italian. I do think, however, using actual Italian could really "make" this recipe, possibly upping that score. But it was still pretty good. Unlike many pasta recipes, I thought the pasta to sauce ratio was good. (Usually too much pasta.) I cooked this about 4 hours, which worked well. I would have liked for it to have a hair more kick, but I think that's where having used the right sausage would've helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States