Spaghetti Italian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Definitely putting this into the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made this for my family and had nothing but raves. I used reg. hamburger instead of the sausage and was told by all I had to make it again and again. It beats the jars all to heck and its not a time consuming recipe to make. I let it simmer all day and I nor the family could eat enough of it. Even if there is no visual sauce on the spaghetti you put it in your mouth and the full taste of the sauce is there. I can't say enough about this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Like others have mentioned, your house will smell wonderful as the sauce is stewing in the kitchen. To deal with the acidity, I added caramelised onions (at the start, for natural sweetness) and brown sugar (periodically, to neutralise the sourness), and that seemed to work well. Remember to serve with some grated parmesan cheese on the top! Will try with mushrooms and other vegetables in future. (Also, I omitted some of the herbs because they're awfully hard to find/expensive in Singapore, but I doubt that that would have radically changed anything.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellyftw

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delicious! Its true, you must let the sausage simmer in the sauce at least 1 hour for max taste bud pleasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
We absolutely LOVED this recipe! I didn't have any sausage, so I just left it out. Added some red pepper flakes. To be honest, the batch that I froze and reheated was even better than the first time! THANKS for this GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made this for a friends suprise birthday party & it was a hit!!! Everyone was raving at how amazing it was. A few people including the birthday boy even asked for the recipe commenting that it was the best spaghetti they'd ever eaten & they'll never eat sauce from the jar again...I have to admit, this is the best spaghetti recipe I'd ever tasted too. This will definitely be a regular meal from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne Hildenbrand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I stumbled on this receipe when I was looking for an alternative to SauceInAJar. I needed some tomato based pasta sauce to go over the chicken parm bundles, so I didn't add the spicy italian sausage, though I threw in some roasted red pepper flakes and a splash of EVOO to compensate. I also forgot to add the bay leaves - I think that they would have been the cherry on top to this recipe. My husband kept saying "this sauce is really good!" throughout the meal and I don't think I'll ever be "allowed" to buy premade sauce again. As another reviewer commented, it smells and tastes like "real" sauce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenBaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is my new favorite spaghetti sauce recipe! It's hearty and delicious! I had to make two changes to the recipe based on what I had on hand. I used ground beef instead of the sausage and substituted 1 quart of canned tomatoes for 2 of the cans of tomato sauce and the can of diced tomatoes. I will be making this recipe again and again! Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Spaghetti Italian Haiku: "Better than a 'jar', but didn't make quite enough. Needs some more sausage." The only changes that I made was using fresh garlic, basil and oregano, rather than dried, and I halved the recipe for 3 of us, serving the sauce over our spaghetti, rather than mixing all together, and there wasn't quite enough. Definitely smelled wonderful, but if I made it again, I'd increase the sausage, and if I let it simmer longer (to thicken), I'd consider a splash of red wine and possibly some sugar to cut the tomato acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Not a bad sauce. It is very acidic if you follow the recipe exactly. I doubled the recipe to 12 servings, and followed it exactly except for one thing - I used roughly half the amount of tomato sauce. A total of 32 ounces and no more. This alleviates the acidity of the sauce significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States