Spaghetti Italian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I am a lazy cook, so I made a simplified version of this recipe and it was perfect for my family and our tastes (we like our food spicy). I used prepared spaghetti sauce (basil and garlic flavor), a can of petite stewed tomatoes in garlic and olive oil, about a tsp. red pepper flakes, and a package of spicy italian turkey sauage that had been browned and drained. Combine all ingredients, cook over low heat for about an hour and serve over vermicelli. The secret incredient is the spicy italian sausage-- it makes the sauce, in my opinion! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Had to add a pinch of sugar so it didnt taste so acidic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Great sauce. The recipe was very good. I substituted ground beef for Italian sausage and added an onion. The sauce was missing something, but I can't recognize what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Simple and delicous! What more could you ask for?! This is my permanent spaghetti recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
this dish was amazing!my family really enjoyed it. Plus it made dad look like a real cook. thank you very much foxworth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Guynell
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
this is some really good tasteing spaghetti and a little spicy.I used the "hot" italian sausage--very good and I would highly recomend it and I give it five stars--very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I rarely follow a recipe to a "Tee," but this time I did. I don't think this could serve 6 people. My family of 4 are not big eaters, but there was not enough for us 2 adults and 2 children. I let it simmer for nearly 3 hours (having to turn it off from the "low" setting,) several times. The sauce turned out rather thick. The flavors were very good though. Because of the thickness we did have to add just regular jar sauce. I did rate this following the recipe before adding the jar sauce. Thanks for sharing and I will try again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This sauce was surprisingly good! All I did was add some rosemary, doubled the garlic powder and added a pinch of brown sugar. Served over thin spaghetti with garlic toast and a caesar salad. I will make this recipe again... we scarfed it down! Thank you, Foxworth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was a very good sauce. I used a whole pound of sausage, because I had a pound in the freezer that I wanted to use. Great flavor. I used fresh basil and oregano, but added those at the end. I did add some dried in the beginning. Also used 3 cloves fresh garlic, and some dried onion. I used two larger cans of tomato sauce (14 oz?) instead of the smaller ones and one can was no-salt-added. This sauce was still a little too salty for me, probably because of the evaporated liquid during the long simmer. The long simmer is essential though (I did a little over an hour) to develop that great thick texture and great flavor. Mine got a little too thick, so I added a splash of water at the end. Served over whole-wheat spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Excellent sauce! I don't know how to stray from an original recipe the first time out so this was to the letter. Definitely a "simmer all day" sauce but would have been good to go after about 90 minutes. Only change/add I would make would be to add some crushed red pepper for a little "kick."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States