Spaghetti Italian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This is my new favorite spaghetti sauce recipe! It's hearty and delicious! I had to make two changes to the recipe based on what I had on hand. I used ground beef instead of the sausage and substituted 1 quart of canned tomatoes for 2 of the cans of tomato sauce and the can of diced tomatoes. I will be making this recipe again and again! Marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Spaghetti Italian Haiku: "Better than a 'jar', but didn't make quite enough. Needs some more sausage." The only changes that I made was using fresh garlic, basil and oregano, rather than dried, and I halved the recipe for 3 of us, serving the sauce over our spaghetti, rather than mixing all together, and there wasn't quite enough. Definitely smelled wonderful, but if I made it again, I'd increase the sausage, and if I let it simmer longer (to thicken), I'd consider a splash of red wine and possibly some sugar to cut the tomato acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Not a bad sauce. It is very acidic if you follow the recipe exactly. I doubled the recipe to 12 servings, and followed it exactly except for one thing - I used roughly half the amount of tomato sauce. A total of 32 ounces and no more. This alleviates the acidity of the sauce significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is so delicious! I made a couple changes. I used sweet italian turkey sausage, 1/2 tsp italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp basil and 1/2 tsp oregano and added some dried crushed red pepper. My husband loved it too. Will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I made it by the directions and it is just alittle bit to much acid for my stomach. I really didnt like it. It looked great and it didnt smell bad but just didnt like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Everyone loves this recipe. I use it exactly as shown, but use the italian diced tomatoes with spices. I also use a crock pot and cook for 4 - 6 hours and it turns out absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I followed this recipe to the tee and still found it to be too acidic for my taste. I'll try to add some vinegar next time to contrast the acidity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This was okay, but not the wonderful sause I was expecting. The more I try to add to it to fix it, the worse it becomes. I tried adding fresh basil, brown sugar, garlic powder, parsley....it just isn't very good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very good restaurant quality spaghetti sauce! I used no salt added tomatoes and 32 oz of tomato sauce (4 8 oz cans) and did not add additional salt. Served over spaghetti instead of mixing it in. I simmered the sauce for a couple of hours and the recipe made 5 cups of sauce. This is now my go to spaghetti sauce recipe! I think next time I'll add in some mushrooms (just because we love them, it is perfect as is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Delicious! This was a huge hit with my family. I followed the recipe exactly except I used a whole pound of sausage since that was what the package was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States