Spaghetti Italian Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very good restaurant quality spaghetti sauce! I used no salt added tomatoes and 32 oz of tomato sauce (4 8 oz cans) and did not add additional salt. Served over spaghetti instead of mixing it in. I simmered the sauce for a couple of hours and the recipe made 5 cups of sauce. This is now my go to spaghetti sauce recipe! I think next time I'll add in some mushrooms (just because we love them, it is perfect as is).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Delicious! This was a huge hit with my family. I followed the recipe exactly except I used a whole pound of sausage since that was what the package was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We made this spaghetti recipe today and it was absolutely delish! We did change a few things, we used a whole pound of sausage and a pound of ground turkey. I also added a 1/2 tsp of garlic salt. It made about 7 servings. Next time I'll probably add some mushrooms. I saw several people who said that it didn't make enough sauce. I didn't let mine simmer all day, (really only about 25 min or so) and it made a generous amount. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
My family loved, loved, loved this recipe!!! I made a few changes I decide to go with 1 lb of sausage we are meat lovers. I also added liquid basil at the end instead of dried. Which was perfect! I let it simmer for an 1hr 30min. The cans of tomatoes were italian flavored. The tomato sauce was Newmans Own tomato and basil sauce. *Important* DO NOT ADD SALT! THIS RECIPE ENDS UP VERY SALTY ON ITS OWN. I think next time I cook this I will add sugar like others have mentioned they did. This recipe is going in our family box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Good Stuff, I did use fresh basil and garlic and also added some onions. Also let cook in a slow cooker for 8 hours... Very yummy!! Will make many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glitterlizzy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of Italian Sausage and felt that this tasted just like any other spaghetti that i've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Stanton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This is now my go to sauce recipe. My family loved it! I followed the recipe exactly but added mushrooms and zucchini during the simmering process to get a few veggies in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simonefeliz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Tried this last night. Huge success! Loved every bite. I used flax-omega noodles, and they really complimented the sauce well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I've made this several times and am about to make it this week again. I let it simmer for 8 hours and enjoy the wonderful aroma that this sauce creates. I usually use a pound of sausage because that's how they come in the store. I find that this taste better the longer it simmers. I use to let it simmer without a cover, but I lost too much liquid. Now I leave it covered and watch the heat to make sure it doesn't start boiling. I made it once with cheaper sausage and it wasn't as good--pick good sausage! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
For me this was really salty. I didn't add any excess salt, but I simmered it for about 5 hours and it was so salty once it cooked down. I might try it again, and get no salt added tomato sauce and diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States