Spaghetti Carbonara II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Brilliant recipe! Save some of the pasta water to mix back in after the eggs to keep the pasta from being a tad on the dry side. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was phenomenal. I had no idea what to make for the first time that my in-laws came over for dinner (my husband and I are into more gourmet/exotic/creative recipes, my in-laws are very much meat and potatoes) so I thought I'd give this recipe a shot and pray that it worked out. Thankfully, it did. This recipe passed with flying colors! I took the suggestion of other reviewers and combined the parmesan with the eggs and added them after the pasta had cooled slightly, and it was fantastic. This was so much easier to make than I could have anticipated, I don't know why I'd never made it before but I will be making it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Joy Burkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Halved the recipe, but used 5 slices of bacon instead of 4 (Is there such a thing as too much bacon?), and 2 cloves of garlic. Added a pinch of dried oregano, basil and thyme. Did not use the wine. Adults and kids gave it a thumbs us. This is incredibly creamy and filling, and easier to make that I thought it would be. Will be making this again many times over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Perfect - Loved this - just mixed the cheese and eggs together before adding them to the pasta as some reviewers had recommended, as my only change. LOVED this recipe - easy- and everyone even my picky son enjoyed this - everyone was in agreement that this was a "make again recipe"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I've cooked this several times, sometimes changing things a bit; other times , making as is. Tonight I added one tomato, artichoke hearts, and used vermouth since I didn't have white wine. I usually beat the eggs, then add light cream with parmesan and other Italian cheeses. Mix well, and stir into the bacon mixture- stirring quick,quick, quick and then dump it into the pasta and stir until creamy. Thanks sooo much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I have cooked this 5 times since I first tried this recipe a few weeks ago. So simple to make and really delicious. This is one of those recipes that matches restaurant quality food with an authentic Italian taste. And, to the recipe writer - thanks for such clear directions and tips. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I didn't use the dry white wine....and this was the first time I'd attempted carbonara...and I'd venture to say that this rivals that of any restaurant! This was delish! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCityMouse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
heavy, but that's what carbonara is, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Just went to Rome earlier this month and tried this. I loved it so much, so when I came home, I just had to find a recipe. There are quite a few recipes out there, so I looked at the ingredient list and picked a few that sounded most like what I had. I decided to give this one a try because the directions sounded easy. I thought it tasted exactly what I had in Rome. I didn't use wine or onions because I don't like either. It tasted amazing! If you're feeding a family, this amount would probably be enough, but for just 2 people, halve the recipe. Also, if you're making the full amount, I would get a bigger frying pan. I'm using a standard size, and it was difficult tossing the spaghetti (over and over and over- your arm definitely gets a workout) without making a mess. May have to invest in a larger skillet just to make this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
changes to suit my taste: I used half the onion and twice the bacon.I had the dryness issue that the other posters had, but having read the other reveiws...adding a little pasta water helped. And like the other posters I also found that this amount of sauce was right for half the amount of spaghetti. When all said and done it was "pretty good" but still missing a little something to put it over the top. I tried adding a little oregano. THEN it was perfect! Also like the other posters....I found I liked the sauce better when the egg was mixed with the cheese first. I also added a coupl TB for cream to it. That way the sauce comes out creamy instead of like scrambled eggs. My family still ate the first scrambled egg version happily....but I like the texture of the sauce better the second way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,063) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States