Spaghetti Carbonara II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Recipe is a good base recipe. I made the following modifications: 1. Used two eggs and two egg yolks and 1/4 cup of cream 2. 3/4 cup of parmesan mixed in egg mixture. 3. Nutmeg added to egg mixture. 4. Added crushed red pepper to onions and browned the onions a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was pretty tasty as well as quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Really easy and yummy. I didn't have any wine, so I left it out. The first time I made this I wasn't a fan because my eggs seemed to cook too much. The second time turned out great, making the dish very creamy. It did seem a little bland so next time I think I will add some lemon juice and a little basil as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Gonzales

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This is really good, BUT you have to be really careful not to cook the egg in the sauce. I used half a pound of bacon and about 3/4 pound of thin spaghetti noodles. I sauteed the garlic and onion in the same pan in which I had cooked the bacon (I reserved about 1 T of the bacon fat for flavor). Once the garlic and onion were translucent and slightly browned, I deglazed the pan with the win. This is key! It helps you get all the great flavor out of the pan. I used about 1/2 cup of chardonnay and let it cook slightly until it was a bit reduced. I combined the eggs, salt, pepper, and cheese in another bowl, beating the eggs before adding the rest of the ingredients. When the pasta was cooked, I mixed it with the wine mixture AND the egg mixture without putting back on the stove. Remember: The egg cannot cook; it will curdle and turn like scrambled eggs, NOT a sauce - you don't want this! I reserved some pasta water and added back to my spaghetti to make a creamy sauce. You really have to eat this fresh; reheating cooks the egg too much. I left the leftover on the stove for my mom, but it got too hot and curdled, so be warned! If you do this right, it's delicious and good enough for company; eat with crusty bread and a side salad for a complete meal. Oh, and don't forget the wine! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
less onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jbuehler
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This recipe is so easy to make and spot on, portion wise. I did combine the parmesan with the eggs and also warmed up the eggs in lukewarm water before whisking together and pouring over the spaghetti. My husband loved it and it is now part of my menu! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I've never had Spaghetti Carbonar before but I love bacon, onions, garlic, eggs and parmesan so I thought I would try it. It was delicious! The eggs and cheese make the sauce so creamy and rich. Not to mention the smokiness of thebacon- so good! I didn't change anything on the recipe since there were so few ingedients I made sure to use high quality ingredients and i think that made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Decent for a quick meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
B+ recipe. I didn't use the wine because I was making it for the family. It was a little dry-maybe I could have added more olive oil but I like to keep it on the healthier side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chum Nguyen Struve

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Only four stars as is because there was too much pasta and the sauce was a little gluey. Personally, I'd reduce the pasta by about a third AND make sure to keep aside at least a cup (maybe cup and a half) of the cooking liquid to add. Also, juice of half a lemon really helps. Overall, though, it's a really nice base that just needed some tweaks for our personal preferences. Easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States