Spaghetti Carbonara II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I made this tonight for myself and my oldest son, it's something I've always wanted to try and I found this recipe to be both a good base for my families tastes, and fairly straight forward. I adjusted the recipe for 3 servings, as my son and I are large eaters. I followed the recipe, but took others advice and my own tastes into account. Added Lemon Juice, Mrs Dash, and pasta water, and only used egg yolks to the sauce, but otherwise followed as written and it was amazing. I was afraid my other kids and wife wouldn't like the dish because of the egg yolks which they dislike, but boy was I wrong! My other kids( Age 3 and 9) tried it and wanted some themselves. Everyone wanted some, so I had to make it again lol. This recipe is most assuredly a keeper and thank you to the Author!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This a great, simple and easy carbonara! I didn't have an onion so I added a couple spring onions at the end. And used some pasta cooking water instead of the wine to help emulsify the sauce. I cut the recipe in half, but had to use close to a 1/2 cup of pasta water to bring the sauce together. So my only recommendation is to keep some pasta cooking water on hand when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This was a good dish. Not exactly like the carbonara I have grown to love, but a good dish nonetheless. Next time I'll try more eggs, but just the yolk, and pancetta instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This, like all recipes, should be used with your own cooking experience in mind. I used bacon which I simmered in water first before crisping in the pan. This rendered the excess fat out of the bacon yet left the bacon nice and crispy without excessive fat. I also added frozen peas, onions, and garlic and added both the eggs and about 1/3 cup of cream to the just cooked pasta. I also drizzled perhaps 3 tablespoons of olive oil over the pasta. Once everything was well-mixed, I added the grated cheese and tossed all with tongs. For ease, I use a stainless steel mixing bowl on top of the pasta pot that has the hot pasta water still in it. It acts as a double boiler and allows easy mixing of all the ingredients without sticking. It is also the best method of reheating the dish. Eliminate the bacon or pork and substitute shrimp and crab or mussels and it becomes another great recipe...well worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Day

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Delish! I followed the recipe but used turkey bacon instead of regular because it's what I had on hand. I was worried about raw eggs, but tossing it on the hot pan cooked everything perfectly. I topped the pasta with some ground pepper but that's it as the bacon and cheese made the dish salty enough. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was so good. Everyone here loved it. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
When I added the egg it when down hill. It instantly went dry. I added pasta water thinking that would help but it didn't. It tasted like bacon grease mush. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Calvin
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was great & Ive made it several times before but this time I added fresh mushrooms during the onion cooking process. I also used maple flavored bacon to give it a sweet twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Made this for the first time tonight. I added mushrooms and baby green peas and I used pancetta. It was amazing and delicious and I definitely will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley J Maxwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrwillard
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I added some chicken broth instead of the wine, and threw in some sliced mushrooms....always a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States