Spaghetti Carbonara I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I used "Italy - the Beautiful Cookbook" & I think the secret for creamy sauce is as given there:- After cooking the pasta RESERVE 1/2cup OF THE LIQUID. Having cooked the pancetta or bacon & a chopped red chili pepper, mix Pecorino cheese & eggs (it uses just yolks, I use whole eggs) into the reserved cooking water, add a little salt & PLENTY of pepper; tip the browned bacon (with the fat) over the past, then add the egg mixture & toos well. Add parmesan & serve. Delicious. D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
nicolejade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I made this recipe for three very picky grandchildren. Too bad I didn't make more. They all had seconds and wanted more. One change I made was adding some minced garlic to the bacon fat. Next time I will make double because they wanted it for lunch today. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Kinda bland, It does need something extra. I added chicken and garlic to mine. Wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Well, Im sorry to not have been in Italy, but for a college guy like me, this stuff is ridiculously delicious!!! I added some lemon pepper, a hint of garlic salt, and some finely grounded basil, the combo was AWESOME!!! Will definitely do the dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I'll try anything once. It was an easy meal and the bacon makes the flavor. I'd say it's a good recipe for bachelors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarakyong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Yum - I love this stuff! I add a bit of garlic to mine too, as it seems to need something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Warning, a look at the nutritional information for this recipe is revealing. This recipe is estimated to have 62 grams of fat in each serving (the recipe makes six servings for a total of 372 grams of fat). That's more than an entire pint of ben & jerry's cookie dough in one serving (one sixth of this recipe!) With the majority of that fat coming from bacon and eggs, this may not be the healthiest meal for children or adults...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Wonderful! This was so quick and easy. We will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
We really liked this. I have a house full of picky eaters and no complaints on this one. I know I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States