Spaghetti Carbonara I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I first saw this recipe in the AR Magazine. They added their own Kitchen note which I did and worked perfectly! "From our Kitchen: In Marian's original recipe, she scrambled the eggs before adding them to the pasta, but we found the heat of the pasta cooked the eggs enough to turn them into a creamy sauce instead of chunky pieces. Marian also called for olive oil, but the drippings from the bacon gave this dish plenty of fat and flavor)"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Delicious! I used all the ingredients but put it together a little differently. When the pasta was done cooking, I drained it and put back in the put over a low heat. Poured in the oil, put in bacon, poured in the beaten raw eggs, poured in the cheese and mixed well for a few minutes. The eggs cooked up sticking to the noodles and was perfect! Already sent this to someone who requested it as they thought it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
The only thing I did different was to scramble the eggs in the hot bacon fat, bacon, and spaghetti all at once. Only used two eggs. we love this dish. Easy, economical, and now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
a small onion and 2 cloves of garlic are needed to improve this dish. also a little red pepper flakes improve this dish.most people add Alfredo sauce, which is not authentic Italian dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Ok never been to Italy, but my grandmothers 100% Italian and she loved it she said its not the same but still very good. and any recipe with bacon is going to be high in fat. Its bacon!? Hello? My kids, hubby and grandma loved it.. wont make it all the time but it will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the eggs with the spaghetti. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
this isn't carbonara at all. the point of carbonara is to cook the eggs with the residual heat of the pasta. It may be good but should not be called Carbonara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Holliday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
QUICK, EASY AND MMMM MMM GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Very bland. Needs something... garlic? pepper?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Hubby loved it. This is now a new family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States