Spaghetti Al Amatraciana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
So delicious! I was looking for a recipe to use some pancetta that I had. This recipe was not disappointing. I cut back on the red pepper flakes a little since I'm a wimp and added minced garlic. Also, since I don't cook with wine, I used heavy cream as suggested by another reviewer. Quick, easy, and at the risk of being redundant, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Though I had to use salt pork instead of panchetta, this was the most authentic amatraciana, the flavors were clean and simple. LOVED IT, though I may have to try a little bechemel topping, that sounded gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
really loved this. agree with the comment about adding cream to the sauce .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is very tasty. I did make some slight changes. After following the recipe and then tasting the sauce, I grated a clove of garlic into it. I also added chopped fresh basil and parsley. I used whole wheat spaghetti which worked very well in this dish. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Great recipe!! Make it even better by substituting 1/2 cup heavy cream for the white wine and up the bacon to about 6 strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I absolutely love pasta amatriciana (especially since I used to wait tables in a fab Italian restaurant in the Hamptons that served it) and have failed miserably at recreating it on my own (despite being provided with the ingredients from my old boss!) I was very happy to come across this recipe, but there are some changes I make that truly make it a tasty dish: 1. I use Abraham's diced proscuitto with juniper berries (available in most large grocery stores and peapod.com). It has an incredible flavor and it's nice to have some of your work done for you. I brown it first on its own. I believe this is the 'key' to this dish! 2. Then I add the onion to the proscuitto and cook for a few minutes. I've also used green onions (scallions) and they've worked great with the recipe. 3. Next I add a few cloves of chopped fresh garlic and fresh chopped grape (or Natures Sweet) tomatoes. 4. Next I add a bit more olive oil and about a 1/4 cup jarred tomato sauce just to give it a little 'saucy-ness' (I know the Italian place I used to work at did this as well). 5. I reserve about 1/4 cup of the hot cooking water from the pasta to thin out the sauce so that it can cover all the pasta. 6. About a minute or two before I'm ready to combine the sauce with the pasta I add fresh chopped basil (a few leaves). I use the white wine and pepper as well. I've added grilled shrimp, chicken, and vegetables to the pasta. Multo Bene! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I cook lots of Italian dishes and I thought this was great. Very simple and tasty. One change: I used cherry tomatoes, not a can of crushed tomatoes. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Sorry but yeegads! Took one look at this after cooking and had to throw it away. The pancetta needs to be crispy. Cook it separate from the onions. This looked and tasted and smelled AWFUL. Sorry :(((
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Quite good though I added a little bit of lemon juice and cut down on the onion the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States