Spaghetti Aglio e Olio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Spaghetti Aglio e Olio is one of the most classic Roman side dishes and at one time considered a "peasant's or poor man's" dish. This recipe brings so many wonderful & vivid memories with my Italian family - after dancing, visiting with friends, watching/playing soccer, or after a movie, it was our favorite late night snack. It is especially wonderful & delicious served over homemade pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
My family loved it! Thanks Chef John! So easy and you can modify it in many ways without hassle. I added Peameal Bacon to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Great instructions, and a very tasty dish that was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KyleDeming

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
it ! Cannot eat spaghetti any other way now, Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
One of my favorite foods from childhood... We had an Italian neighbor who taught us this dish. I didn't know to add the water to the sauce, this recipe is an improvement over mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Fabulous recipe and easy to make. I tried a similar recipe via the Food Channel and did not get even close to what it should have tasted like Chef John. Definitely watch his videos. He did miss a key step in this recipe about pouring a 1/2 c of pasta water once the pan of oil and garlic are done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Overall was good, but could have used some more flavor. I'd add more garlic and maybe some fresh lemon juice next time. Also, I only had dried parsley on hand, so maybe fresh would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krissole
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This recipe was so quick and easy to make and was delicious! I followed chef John's instructions step by step and it cave out great! My husband really loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Other than using 8 oz of whole wheat spaghetti, made exactly according to directions. Very good! This was the main dish for dinner for two and we ate it all! As Chef John instructs, be sure to put the sauce and pasta in a bowl, BEFORE adding the parmesan. If you add the parmesan to the sauce and spaghetti in a hot pan, the parmesan will stick to the pan! I prefer the cheese on my spaghetti, not the pan. Next time, I will use basil and add fresh, chopped tomatoes and grilled vegetables. Also, I will add a little chicken base or vegetable base, to give it a little more flavor. I think I will also reduce the amount of olive oil and increase the pasta water, to save on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My husband is southern Italian, he has not stopped raving about this pasta. What is so wonderful about it to me, is that you can serve " as is" for a side dish, or add Chicken as a main dish. Toward the last, I added marinated artichoke hearts and roasted red peppers (from a jar) , a small can of sliced black olives and torn chicken pieces from a store bought rotisserie chicken. Wonderful dinner in no time; simple and wonderful with just bread to go with it. Do watch the video though. It helps about the roasting of the garlic. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States