Spaghetti Aglio e Olio Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is one of the first dishes my Italian MIL taught me to make! She told me this was an important dish to know as it is tasty, very economical and you can clean out the fridge using up leftovers. Boy was she right! It is GREATt just as is.. all on its own. During the summer, when our garden is overflowing, I sometimes add some grape tomatoes, eggplant or some zucchini and my favorite - fresh basil! I have made this using leftover chicken cutlets I diced up and made my food budget stretch a little farther. Be sure to watch the garlic cooking time and be aware that there is some cooking water from the pasta that is to be added to the garlic when it is finished browning. It is mentioned in the video and my MIL made SURE I knew to do that as it adds necessary moisture to the sauce. I use at least a full ladle as I like it a bit more moist. NOTE: add the water slowly to avoid splattering! I made this last night and I added a cup of diced grape tomatoes and some crumbled bacon and topped with shredded fresh spinach. Perfect summer meal. My favorite is using sun dried tomatoes, spinach and fresh mozzarella. Can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I love this preparation for spaghetti. I used to the recipe from The Mediterranean Diet, and made it for years. I have adapted this recipe with elements of that one. For example, I add the parsley and chili flakes to the oil after the garlic has browned, and then also add a ladle of spaghetti water as it's cooking. I usually forgo the cheese, simply because it's expensive back home in Canada and not readily available here in Tanzania. In place of it, I fancy it up with vegetables, either a handful of long green beans or asparagus. Both add a wonderful oomph to the dish. I add the veg once the garlic has browned, but before the pasta water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This is so good and so easy! If you watch the video he has you add a half ladle of pasta water to the OO-garlic saute pan. This is important and is missing from the recipe. This stops the garlic from over cooking and getting bitter and it also adds that extra moisture to the sauce. I usually reserve some pasta water 'just in case'. This recipe says it serves 4 but as a side dish ( which I did) it would easily serve 8 or even more. I served this with sauteed green beans with prosciutto and Barber Chicken, Parmesan. (I know, cheating but it was really good!) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was excellent! I have made it a few times, and I cook it a little differently each time. I like to add shrimp, use extra garlic, add about 1-2 tablespoons of butter, and sprinkle about 1/3 cup of bread crumbs. It is pretty much shrimp scampi on pasta when I get done. (add the zest & juice of one lemon). Also, I use less pasta/noodles to compensate for the thicker sauce, the addition of shrimp, and because I just love the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misterbillio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was a staple in our family growing up, and it still is today! This is such a simple, yet delicious pasta that can be served as a main or side dish. This is also a super economical meal. We usually eat this as a main dish w/ a nice salad and crusty bread, but it's also nice along side chicken parmesan~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
As my dad hailed from Italy, I grew up eating this dish at least once a week. Now, w/my own family, I serve this as a side dish w/ pork chops, substituting the spaghetti w/ extra thin egg noodles. Hubby who is a pasta critic loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
may i know what is Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese. Is that sold in Malaysia?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This was yummy! As another reviewer noted, this recipe forgets to mention to include half a ladle of pasta water to the garlic sauce, but the video shows this step clearly. I included the water, which was necessary, and I also added in asparagus and shrimp to the finish pasta. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Easy, quick, tastes very good. Remake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Finished the whole thing!!! So good! Doubled the red pepper. Forgot the parsley, but it was still great. Too much olive oil, will cut in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Wigginton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States