Spag Bol Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Very good flavor excellent recipe thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This sauce is absolutely incredible! I made the recipe as it was written; you don't need to change a thing. I was concerned that the sauce looked too thick; however, after it simmered for one hour, it got a lot juicier. This recipe is a keeper ... you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I had only 1-1/2 lb of ground beef, so that's what I used, and ended up with a sauce with perfect consistency. Unfortunately, I didn't think there was much to distinguish this sauce from others, and actually from one I would just throw together for a quick dinner. This was good, but I certainly wouldn't characterize it as anything out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
So very good:) My family loved loved loved this;) My husband hasn't eaten spaghetti (or any pasta with any sauce!) in 20 yrs or more and he really enjoyed it;) Total keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Great with vegetarian ground beef too :-) I also added a couple of grated carrots. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Windy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Yes, as others have stated this is a very meaty sauce, but that is what makes it so different and good. I used ground venison in place of the beef. I also cut back on the onion to only 1 1/2 and I chopped instead of sliced as my mom would be eating it and she is not fond of onions. What I enjoyed most was the bit of liquid it did have had an almost buttery flavor, rich but not too much. I did find it did need salt so next time will add it and maybe a bit of fresh basil. I let it simmer about 2 1/2 hours and did add about 1 1/2 cups water as it started to become too dry while it simmered. Liked it because it was not your typical tomato spaghetti sauce. For those who think jarred is better, sorry, you must have weak taste buds. NOTHING is better then made from scratch, fresh dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I gave this recipes to my husband to make for dinner last night. The main reason wanted him to try it was because of others saying their picky husbands even liked it. He made it and said it was easy, and he said he loved it!!! He also told me to rate it 5 stars and say that yes even picky husbands love it! I printed the recipe for 4 people but next time I will have him made the full recipe and freeze half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This sauce came out great! It thickened nicely while it simmered and it was very tasty! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lyman, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Made this on a whim, and my husband raved about it (and he's hard to please). He said it tasted just italian chili....which I had never heard of, but he's Italian, so he should know. He even took it to work to let a guy (who is a great cook) try it, and he raved about it also. Didn't change a thing, except a little less onion as I didn't have enough on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States