Spaetzle and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My husband made this and it was awesome. Perfect for a cold winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Very good and very simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Used "Grandma's Noodles II" for noodle recipe instead of noodles listed and it turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I made this recipe with "Grandma's Noodles II" (from this site), and it was AWESOME! I didn't use a whole chicken - I used boneless, skinless breasts. I cut them frozen and cooked them right in the broth with the onions and celery. The chicken came out so moist. My husband is a tried and true "meat and potatoes" guy, so I was a bit doubtful that he'd enjoy this meal of chicken noodle soup with warm applesauce on the side. HE LOVED IT! Three bowls later, he was to full for dessert :-) This will be one of our cold weather staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe, my family loved it. Even my very picky husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENPAK1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
The best chicken spaetzle ever! Soooo delicious. My father likes the dumplings very hearty, so I added about the dough in 1/2 and added 1/4 to 1/3 a cup of extra flour. Very hearty, but more like dumplings than spaetzle. The dumplings that followed this recipe were yummy. Be sure to roll the dumplings into somewhat small balls. Grease your ice cream scoop, and the balls should be 1/2 the size. I made the mistake of using the whole ice cream scoop and they soon turned out like baseballs. This is also a somewhat time consuming soup, but the soup is still worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is exactly like my moms also. It is the best!!! She would also make these dumplings and put them in her fried cabbage and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is our favorite chicken soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Coming from Dutch heritage, My mom makes my grandmothers recipe for spaetzle and chicken soup regularly. Now that I'm on my own, this soup is one of the many things I miss. This recipe isn't an exact match for my mom/grandmothers, but is as close as it can get. LOVE IT! I had a hard time with the spaetzles but maybe I just need practice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
My grandmother taught me this too! My kids love the homemade noodles. If you roll out the dough and flour each side lightly, then roll it up and slice into noodle ribbons, that works. I have the kids unroll them and throw on a cookie sheet to "dry" a little so it doesn't soak up all the broth. Then I can add the noodles when I am ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States