Spaetzle and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I REALLY recommend going to Youtube and researching how spaetzle is done (if nothing else than to see what it's supposed to look like) before doing this recipe, if you're not familiar with it. I followed the instructions as I understood them here, and ended up with something that looked like boiled mini-baguettes.... After looking into it, leaving the dough relatively thin and wet, and working it through a colander or maybe a cheese grater, might be the way to go. I kept adding flour trying to get it to form a ball per the directions, which was a big mistake. The soup's flavor is good, and I'm going to try to rescue what's left somehow....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
My grandmother taught me this too! My kids love the homemade noodles. If you roll out the dough and flour each side lightly, then roll it up and slice into noodle ribbons, that works. I have the kids unroll them and throw on a cookie sheet to "dry" a little so it doesn't soak up all the broth. Then I can add the noodles when I am ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I made this recipe with "Grandma's Noodles II" (from this site), and it was AWESOME! I didn't use a whole chicken - I used boneless, skinless breasts. I cut them frozen and cooked them right in the broth with the onions and celery. The chicken came out so moist. My husband is a tried and true "meat and potatoes" guy, so I was a bit doubtful that he'd enjoy this meal of chicken noodle soup with warm applesauce on the side. HE LOVED IT! Three bowls later, he was to full for dessert :-) This will be one of our cold weather staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
The best chicken spaetzle ever! Soooo delicious. My father likes the dumplings very hearty, so I added about the dough in 1/2 and added 1/4 to 1/3 a cup of extra flour. Very hearty, but more like dumplings than spaetzle. The dumplings that followed this recipe were yummy. Be sure to roll the dumplings into somewhat small balls. Grease your ice cream scoop, and the balls should be 1/2 the size. I made the mistake of using the whole ice cream scoop and they soon turned out like baseballs. This is also a somewhat time consuming soup, but the soup is still worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
After years (I'm serious) this is the very first recipe for spaetzle that exactly matches my mother's (and her's) way of making it! I'm psyched. This recipe is almost identical to the thickened chicken stew I make today, having watched at my mom's apron strings. Our family is PA Dutch and I wonder if this unique preparation of spaetzle is regional... sometimes I will do the noodles on their own in boiling water, straing them, then fry until golden in butter. Yum. Thank you. GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefblackhat
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Coming from Dutch heritage, My mom makes my grandmothers recipe for spaetzle and chicken soup regularly. Now that I'm on my own, this soup is one of the many things I miss. This recipe isn't an exact match for my mom/grandmothers, but is as close as it can get. LOVE IT! I had a hard time with the spaetzles but maybe I just need practice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
make the broth while you prep the noodles...add the noodles while you finsh the broth... what a great muti-tasking recipe for the modern day women... and great tasting too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This soup is great. It has a wonderful flavor. I would recommend cutting off any excess fat from the chicken before cooking. I used three cloves of fresh garlic instead of the garlic salt. I tried cutting the spaetzle as directed but found it very difficult. If you have a spaetzle press I strongly recommend using it...much easier. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This soup was very good. I added dill to the soup, and it was awesome. Kid and hubby loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
When I make chicken soup I prefer to use the carcass from a roasted chicken. I think it adds more flavor. I grew up eating spaetzle but never had it in soup. It was delicious Carly and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States