Spaetzle and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Coming from Dutch heritage, My mom makes my grandmothers recipe for spaetzle and chicken soup regularly. Now that I'm on my own, this soup is one of the many things I miss. This recipe isn't an exact match for my mom/grandmothers, but is as close as it can get. LOVE IT! I had a hard time with the spaetzles but maybe I just need practice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is our favorite chicken soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This is exactly like my moms also. It is the best!!! She would also make these dumplings and put them in her fried cabbage and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
The best chicken spaetzle ever! Soooo delicious. My father likes the dumplings very hearty, so I added about the dough in 1/2 and added 1/4 to 1/3 a cup of extra flour. Very hearty, but more like dumplings than spaetzle. The dumplings that followed this recipe were yummy. Be sure to roll the dumplings into somewhat small balls. Grease your ice cream scoop, and the balls should be 1/2 the size. I made the mistake of using the whole ice cream scoop and they soon turned out like baseballs. This is also a somewhat time consuming soup, but the soup is still worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe, my family loved it. Even my very picky husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENPAK1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My husband made this and it was awesome. Perfect for a cold winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I don't know if it was something I did wrong or what, but I did not care for this. The flavor of the broth was wonderful, but the noodles were not good. It might have been me, I don't know. Sorry! A. Bennett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
After years (I'm serious) this is the very first recipe for spaetzle that exactly matches my mother's (and her's) way of making it! I'm psyched. This recipe is almost identical to the thickened chicken stew I make today, having watched at my mom's apron strings. Our family is PA Dutch and I wonder if this unique preparation of spaetzle is regional... sometimes I will do the noodles on their own in boiling water, straing them, then fry until golden in butter. Yum. Thank you. GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefblackhat
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I made this recipe with "Grandma's Noodles II" (from this site), and it was AWESOME! I didn't use a whole chicken - I used boneless, skinless breasts. I cut them frozen and cooked them right in the broth with the onions and celery. The chicken came out so moist. My husband is a tried and true "meat and potatoes" guy, so I was a bit doubtful that he'd enjoy this meal of chicken noodle soup with warm applesauce on the side. HE LOVED IT! Three bowls later, he was to full for dessert :-) This will be one of our cold weather staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Very good and very simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States