Spaetzle and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe, my family loved it. Even my very picky husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENPAK1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My husband made this and it was awesome. Perfect for a cold winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I don't know if it was something I did wrong or what, but I did not care for this. The flavor of the broth was wonderful, but the noodles were not good. It might have been me, I don't know. Sorry! A. Bennett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Markle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
After years (I'm serious) this is the very first recipe for spaetzle that exactly matches my mother's (and her's) way of making it! I'm psyched. This recipe is almost identical to the thickened chicken stew I make today, having watched at my mom's apron strings. Our family is PA Dutch and I wonder if this unique preparation of spaetzle is regional... sometimes I will do the noodles on their own in boiling water, straing them, then fry until golden in butter. Yum. Thank you. GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefblackhat
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I made this recipe with "Grandma's Noodles II" (from this site), and it was AWESOME! I didn't use a whole chicken - I used boneless, skinless breasts. I cut them frozen and cooked them right in the broth with the onions and celery. The chicken came out so moist. My husband is a tried and true "meat and potatoes" guy, so I was a bit doubtful that he'd enjoy this meal of chicken noodle soup with warm applesauce on the side. HE LOVED IT! Three bowls later, he was to full for dessert :-) This will be one of our cold weather staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Very good and very simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Used "Grandma's Noodles II" for noodle recipe instead of noodles listed and it turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
When I make chicken soup I prefer to use the carcass from a roasted chicken. I think it adds more flavor. I grew up eating spaetzle but never had it in soup. It was delicious Carly and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
make the broth while you prep the noodles...add the noodles while you finsh the broth... what a great muti-tasking recipe for the modern day women... and great tasting too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This soup is great. It has a wonderful flavor. I would recommend cutting off any excess fat from the chicken before cooking. I used three cloves of fresh garlic instead of the garlic salt. I tried cutting the spaetzle as directed but found it very difficult. If you have a spaetzle press I strongly recommend using it...much easier. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States