Spaetzle and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Carly, your soup is delicious! Your directions were clear and concise. As a matter of fact, I may make another batch tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This soup was very good. I added dill to the soup, and it was awesome. Kid and hubby loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
My hubby loves this soup! He practically begs me to make it. It is very easy. I use a vegetable broth and a cube of veg. boullion. I don't think it makes a difference though, that is just what we have around the house. This is another family staple on the cold days around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERKS09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Ohhhhhhh.......yum. I made this today to help fight a cold, and it is EXACTLY what my Gramma made growing up! We called it Chicken Rebel soup, and instead of cutting the spaetzle dough, we just dropped it in. Other than that...this is the best stuff ever. Who needs Zicam when you've got this!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I didn't change much because the original recipe looked great. Two small changes - I roasted the chicken first, 350 for about 45 minutes, then the chicken and fat went into the water. I still found it necessary to add a tablespoon of chicken base and a touch more salt to bring the flavor fully out. Second was the spaetzle recipe - I used 3 cups flour, 4 eggs, 1 1/4 cup of whole milk, 1 1/2 teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg, and then piped it out into boiling slated water through the cut tip of a 1 gal. freezer storage bag. I ended up with a noodle about 2-3 inches long and between a 1/4 and 1/2 inch wide. A definite "make again" recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Fantastic!!! My family loves this recipe so much, I always double the recipe, making a huge amount, and it is always gone the next day!!! So easy and so so so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I REALLY recommend going to Youtube and researching how spaetzle is done (if nothing else than to see what it's supposed to look like) before doing this recipe, if you're not familiar with it. I followed the instructions as I understood them here, and ended up with something that looked like boiled mini-baguettes.... After looking into it, leaving the dough relatively thin and wet, and working it through a colander or maybe a cheese grater, might be the way to go. I kept adding flour trying to get it to form a ball per the directions, which was a big mistake. The soup's flavor is good, and I'm going to try to rescue what's left somehow....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
My grandmother taught me this too! My kids love the homemade noodles. If you roll out the dough and flour each side lightly, then roll it up and slice into noodle ribbons, that works. I have the kids unroll them and throw on a cookie sheet to "dry" a little so it doesn't soak up all the broth. Then I can add the noodles when I am ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Coming from Dutch heritage, My mom makes my grandmothers recipe for spaetzle and chicken soup regularly. Now that I'm on my own, this soup is one of the many things I miss. This recipe isn't an exact match for my mom/grandmothers, but is as close as it can get. LOVE IT! I had a hard time with the spaetzles but maybe I just need practice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is our favorite chicken soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States