Spaetzle and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent! My family stuffed themselves. I added string beans to get in some extra veggies for my family, but aside from that the only changes I made were additional spices. I used 3 bone-in chicken breasts and my spaetzle required 4 cups of flour. They were sticky as I dropped them in the soup, but they came out excellent! My first spaetzle attempt and my family was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
nice and warming, i used the drop in method for the spaetzle like some of the other reviewers and it turned out nice. tho, im not sure if its my taste or if it was the carrots i used, but they got a bit overpowering. I'll try it with fresher carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CARLY819
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I have just added some youtube footage (2 parts...from my iphone) on how to make Spaetzle and how to add it to the soup. Hope you enjoy, and find it as simple and delicious as I do! Cheers! Carly http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ryM-rxzSE30 and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqanzQErvCU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLY819

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have been making spaetzles for a while now. I got the recipe from my husbands sister (which was thier mothers) So I actually made the spaetzles the night before. But other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was GREAT! Next time I may add some chopped celery too! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I've made spaetzle before. Just once, with a mix, but that was enough that I understand how the process works, & how it should look. The spaetzle part of the recipe DOES NOT MATCH the method given for cooking it. The spaetzle part, as written, is just about right for the "push through a colander into boiling water" method of making spaetzle. It is NOT right for making homemade noodles (as instructions say)--too wet. I added another cup and a half of flour and spooned mine in. They ARE delicious--but this recipe is not for the novice cook. -1 star for the ratio of liquid:flour not being near right for the spaetzle, but otherwise, delicious & thanks :) P.S. I'd make again, but I'll play around with the liquid:flour ratio and use a colander to drip-through, as that's easier anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
So much like what our grandmother's make! I drop the dumplings in the soup by the spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was very good. I am in the process of cleaning out the pantry and found a package of spaetzle that need to be used. I had actually roasted a chicken earlier in the week and had made chicken stock from the carcass so I used that and the leftover chicken for this. My 2 year old, who is not a big fan of soup, gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This soup was the BEST. I just loved everything about it. Even my kids loved it. I will certainly be making this again. Thank you CARLY819.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Carly, your soup is delicious! Your directions were clear and concise. As a matter of fact, I may make another batch tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This soup was very good. I added dill to the soup, and it was awesome. Kid and hubby loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States