Spaetzle and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
My grandmother made what we called Fat Noodle soup. The spaetzle dough we used was a bit thinner, and we just dropped it in the soup with a teaspoon. Same concept though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Die Cut
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great recipe! I had never heard of "Spaetzle" before and watched the video another reviewer posted on youtube so I figured out how to make the noodles. My kids all loved the soup! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This soup was great! We loved the spaetzle. My husband said it reminded him of his mom's chicken and dumplings which is a good thing. I used 3 chicken thighs and 4 drumsticks and a bag of frozen peas and carrots that was thawed. There are some helpful videos on YouTube on making spaetzle, one that is in German was the most helpful because it showed the person using hot water from the pot to smooth out the spaetzle dough on the cutting board while cutting off thin noodles. This method worked very well for us. I used the amount of flour called for in the original recipe. Thanks for the great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was delicious! I only gave it 4 stars because I made a few minor changes. I used 4 thighs and 2 split breast pieces, sliced carrots instead of baby carrots (that was what I had on hand) and added more broth after the spaetzle had soaked up most of the broth. I also diced the onion and sauteed it along with the celery and some diced carrot before adding the chicken and the broth. A very tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent! My family stuffed themselves. I added string beans to get in some extra veggies for my family, but aside from that the only changes I made were additional spices. I used 3 bone-in chicken breasts and my spaetzle required 4 cups of flour. They were sticky as I dropped them in the soup, but they came out excellent! My first spaetzle attempt and my family was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
nice and warming, i used the drop in method for the spaetzle like some of the other reviewers and it turned out nice. tho, im not sure if its my taste or if it was the carrots i used, but they got a bit overpowering. I'll try it with fresher carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CARLY819
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I have just added some youtube footage (2 parts...from my iphone) on how to make Spaetzle and how to add it to the soup. Hope you enjoy, and find it as simple and delicious as I do! Cheers! Carly http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ryM-rxzSE30 and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqanzQErvCU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLY819

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I have been making spaetzles for a while now. I got the recipe from my husbands sister (which was thier mothers) So I actually made the spaetzles the night before. But other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was GREAT! Next time I may add some chopped celery too! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I've made spaetzle before. Just once, with a mix, but that was enough that I understand how the process works, & how it should look. The spaetzle part of the recipe DOES NOT MATCH the method given for cooking it. The spaetzle part, as written, is just about right for the "push through a colander into boiling water" method of making spaetzle. It is NOT right for making homemade noodles (as instructions say)--too wet. I added another cup and a half of flour and spooned mine in. They ARE delicious--but this recipe is not for the novice cook. -1 star for the ratio of liquid:flour not being near right for the spaetzle, but otherwise, delicious & thanks :) P.S. I'd make again, but I'll play around with the liquid:flour ratio and use a colander to drip-through, as that's easier anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
So much like what our grandmother's make! I drop the dumplings in the soup by the spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt

Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States