Spaetzle and Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Needs: Rosemary, sage, thyme and chicken bouillon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I actually cheated a lot and made the herbed dumplings from this site instead of the spaetzle. :P The five stars is for the soup itself, which was phenomenal! I used a package of chicken thighs with bones (skin on) and boiled them with the vegetables and seasonings for about an hour. Then I picked all the meat off the bones (and gave some to my dogs, which they loved) and strained the broth. Put the meat and broth back in, and made up the dumplings. Tasted awesome. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Farmington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Shortcut on noodles and chicken - For a shortcut on the chicken and a boost of flavor...pick up an already cooked rotisserie chicken at the store, boil in place of raw chicken about 20 minutes. Proceed with recipe. Shortcut on noodles - mix dough in bowl without water, and drop by the teaspoon-full into boiling broth. After dropping each "dumpling" in make sure you dip spoon into broth to dampen it before scooping another "dumpling" out of the mixing bowl. Was stunned to find this recipe. We've been making this many years, originally learned from our grandma, and we could eat it daily as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Fantastic. I took the advice of another reviewer and looked up how to make spaetzle. I went one step further (like they did on You Tube) and sauteed the spaetzle in a little butter and one slice of bacon. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
So, my boyfriend loved this recipe! Said the spaetzle was very close to the real thing (he lived in Germany for a few years). I however wasn't all that impressed with the spaetzle recipe. It wasn't bad mind you, just not like I've had before. The soup however was outstanding! Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
We call this Hunky Soup. The spaetzle batter we make is slightly thinner and won't make a ball but the concept and ingredients are the same. Wonderful addition to soup instead of noodles. Makes for a heartier meal! We also leave the celery in the soup for more vitamins(?).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
My grandmother made what we called Fat Noodle soup. The spaetzle dough we used was a bit thinner, and we just dropped it in the soup with a teaspoon. Same concept though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Die Cut
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Great recipe! I had never heard of "Spaetzle" before and watched the video another reviewer posted on youtube so I figured out how to make the noodles. My kids all loved the soup! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This soup was great! We loved the spaetzle. My husband said it reminded him of his mom's chicken and dumplings which is a good thing. I used 3 chicken thighs and 4 drumsticks and a bag of frozen peas and carrots that was thawed. There are some helpful videos on YouTube on making spaetzle, one that is in German was the most helpful because it showed the person using hot water from the pot to smooth out the spaetzle dough on the cutting board while cutting off thin noodles. This method worked very well for us. I used the amount of flour called for in the original recipe. Thanks for the great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was delicious! I only gave it 4 stars because I made a few minor changes. I used 4 thighs and 2 split breast pieces, sliced carrots instead of baby carrots (that was what I had on hand) and added more broth after the spaetzle had soaked up most of the broth. I also diced the onion and sauteed it along with the celery and some diced carrot before adding the chicken and the broth. A very tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States