Spaetzle, Sauerkraut and Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was just weird. Way too much effort for a pretty unimpressive dish, and an off-putting combination of flavors, to be honest. Considering how many pans I had to dirty, and that kielbasa is so tasty all on its own, this is definitely not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Yum,great especially for those who think sauerkraut is too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Surat
Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Have made this a few times, using Field Roast apple sage sausage (I'm vegetarian). One addition, is that we put a few slices of swiss cheese on top of the spaetzle before putting the kraut mixture. AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I took this to a potluck and it didn't go over well, but when I tasted it I decided it was okay...more for me! The sauerkraut was a little on the sweet side for my taste, but that is a matter of taste. Otherwise I thought the whole package was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My husband loves this dish. I buy frozen spaetzle and go easy on the sauerkraut, otherwise it can overwhelm the dish. Between the butter, kielbasa and bacon it can get a bit greasy, but tastes quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This is DELICIOUS!!! Wonderful! I was just looking for a Kielbasa and Sauerkraut recipe. Made my own home made Sauerkraut last year, so looking to use some up and had some Polish sausage in the freezer, too. Made this, it is excellent! For the first try, I skipped the butter, apple and brown sugar because I was a little unsure about that. I didn't want to go for sweet right away. Now the next time I make this, I will try it with the apple, butter and brown sugar, maybe, because I think the flavors would blend famously! Excellent dish! Really happy I tried it! I will not here the Spaetzle was a new try for me, I have not made Spaetzle before, so I think it turned out but I will try other methods. Like I said, I hadn't made Spaetzle before so not sure what to expect. Just the same, it turned out great and the dinner was a hit with the family!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This casserole was loved by all. I too was apprehensive about adding the apples, so I compromised by making them and putting the on the side. I did not care for the added sweetness of the apples, but mom and another guest loved it. I have never made Spaetzle before and oh my goodness, it is so easy! Little dd I know my mom had her mother's Spaetzle maker which was just handed down to me! I had so much fun making this casserole. I think this would be a great recipe for a crowd as well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I made my own Bavarian style kraut and used a honeycrisp apple instead of a gala. I also browned the kielbasa in the bacon drippings instead of using the microwave. Other than that I followed the recipe pretty close and it turned out great! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
The spaetzle was fun to make, and the kids really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States