Spaetzle II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
12/1/13 tried this tonight; wife didn't like it. I thought it was okay, made the recipe as per directions.I will be experimenting with more. I never heard of spaetzle before. I tried to find a spaetzle maker on Oahu, most people I asked didn't know what I was talking about. I used my steamer basket which has 1/4 in. pukas in it. It worked well. Next time I will try adding so seasoning as per some of the reviews. I not did tweak the recipe local boy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was my first time trying this and they came out hard, is there something I forgot to do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
this just doesn't taste like the spaetzle I had while visiting in Germany......won't make this recipe again........sorry.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I've never made spaetzle before, but it was really fun! I was lazy and made giant spaetzle that ended up being bigger than your average gnocchi, but they were still quite good. I didn't try the colander idea. After boiling the spaetzle, I cooked them with chopped onions and garlic in some butter and served them with the option of grated mozarella. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
The flavor was good and we really enjoyed as a side dish with a gravy made from the German Rouladen we had as the main dish. I gave it four stars because there are simply not enough instructions on how to make this and what precautions. The dough mix was very very sticky at first and almost impossible to clean off hands. The 1/2" pinch of "batter"? Did this mean half inch square, half inch long? Who knows. This was my first time trying this dish and I would have liked more in depth instructions. It yielded maybe two decent servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This was great! tasted jut like my German Great Grandma made:) - I made little snakes and sliced really thin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fitmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These were exactly like the Spaetzle I made when I was in German class. I made some and put them in a soup. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I make the same thing but very slowly add water to a paste consistency. My grandmother used to make this & when she couldn't find her Spaetzle press, she spooned in about 1/4 tsp. at a time into boiling water, submerging the spoon in the water, so it cleans off and other spaetzle don't stick to the spoon. Even my finicky eaters LOVe these and I have to quadruple the recipe - STILL not enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These were very good and so simple, I like to add these to some of my soups. My kids love them and so does hubby, if I don't add it, they are always like hey where are the chewy's!!! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Pretty good stuff! I made the dough as stated. For pinching, every third dumpling or so I dipped my fingers into some flour; otherwise the whole glob just kept sticking to my fingers. I made them a bit bigger but they were still cooked all the way through; I cooked them in beef broth with a clove of garlic added in. Sprinkled with parsley right before serving; next time I will try adding some herbs to the dough itself. So good for how simple this recipe is, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States