Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
We serve this with Hungarian Goulash and chicken soup. We love it! So far superior to purchased noodles. I've experimented with different ways of making this without a spaetzle press as the colander idea, just doesn't work. So far the best way is to zap carefully in a food processor...just until crumbly. There may still be a few bigger lumps, but do these separately or by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Tasted rubbery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This was not exactly as I remember this dish served in Germany, but it was certainly tasty! We made kaesespaetzle by sauteeing some onions and then baking the noodles with some Emmentaler cheese and the onions on top - turned out GREAT! The leftover noodles were also good with stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This was my first time ever eating Spaetzle never mind making it! I followed the advice of a previous poster and added some nutmeg. They were very tasty...even my picky 8 yr. old daughter liked them. However, it took forever to push them thru a colander. I need to find an easier way! They were perfect with Wendy's Hungarian Goulash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chez Kathie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I lived in Germany for a number of years and I enjoy spaetzle. Milk was the liquid my German friends always used. Also, I simply use a grater (grating side down) to push the dough through...far easier than a colander and more uniquely shaped than the uniform spaetzle maker. Let the dough rest for 30 minutes after you have added all the ingredients so that the gluten can "relax". Good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
These came out very well and tasty-and I didn't even use a spaetzle maker or the colander technique-rather I just broke off mounds of dough, and made dumplings. Following a past review, I added salt, pepper, and some nutmeg. Very good taste, and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
Yummy! I a German friend of mine uses milk as the liquid instead of water, but I can't tell that much difference. I visited there recently and bought two very inexpensive spaetzle makers--one for short and one for long spaetzle--so it's MUCH easier to cook. I also find that using 1 teaspoon of salt per cup of flour works well (I guess it leaches out into the cooking water somewhat). I'm glad to have this recipe, because my friend just dumps stuff in the bowl without measuring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
This is a very easy, quick and tasty meal. I LOVED!!!! It was So quick! I am only 12 and it was easy to make. I made it for my dad's birthday and it was a big hit!!!! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Very east to make and good to eat. Serve fresh from the pot. My German husband and mother in law raved about these. They said they were the best they had ever had. This was my first experience with spaetzle ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
This was a good recipe, however, to put the noodle mixture through the colander was not the easiest thing to do. I ended up using my cookie press, and it worked okay. Maybe next time I will see about using a ricer (I don't have one currently.) Using the press, the noodles were a bit thicker and more dumpling like, but they were still good with the Hungarian Ghoulash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States