Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
my noodles were raw from the inside even after cooking for 10 min! maybe it was just me but this recipe just didnt do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Very easy and delicious recipe! I tried to improvise with a colander for pressing the noodles as one reviewer suggested, but ended up getting a spaetzle press, which made things much easier. Definitely invest in a spaetzle press if you don't have one. I follow another reviewer's suggestion to saute the finished spaetzle with butter, chopped onions, and cheddar cheese-- delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
My family has made homemade egg noodles for generations using a very similar recipe, rolling out the dough and letting it dry and cutting it into strips. This is SO much quicker, and tastes just the same! People who were having trouble pressing it through a colander were probably trying to use one with small holes. The one I used has holes a little less than 1/4 inch. The only trouble I had was the steam from the boiling broth scorching my fingers. I may invest in a spaetzle press, since they're only $10 at Amazon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
They were ok. Some members of my family liked them more than others. We served this with Jagerschnitzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This is a very authentic recipe. I am very happy with it. I did let it sit out like others recommened which I do not think was a good idea. My noodles were very small and I wish they had been longer. I did use a spaetzle maker that I purchased from Amazon for less than $10 which I don't know how I would have made this without it. I will be making this often. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Lemke Nugent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I had a really hard time getting the dough to go thru the colander. Eventually, I ended up putting the top of my broiler pan, that has 1/4 inch holes all over it, on top of the stock pot with half volume of water, half of chicken stock. I had to really press and scrape the dough. It might be because I overworked the dough when I was mixing it. Or it could be because I let it sit for about an hour before pressing it. I served it with this recipe on top and it was really tasty. I also used milk and added pepper and nutmeg to the dough. I'd say, add a full 1/2 tsp of nutmeg because when I tried it without the cabbage, I couldn't even taste the 1/4 tsp I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by addycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Used skim milk instead of water. Easy to cook but hard to press through a cutter. Thought it might be easier shoeing a horse or pulling out tree stumps. But worth the effort! The recipe for four is just right if you eat like eight people do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon J.
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
My 8 yr old and I had a blast making this together. It was pretty good. We also made mini meatballs and tossed the Spaetzle with mushrooms, onions, and meatballs. We made a beefy sour cream sauce for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is a great starter recipe. I wanted a richer recipe so I substituted milk for the water, added a couple dashes of nutmeg, 2 tablespoons of butter for the spaetzle, and I used 1/2 chicken stock and 1/2 water for the cooking water. I didn't have any luck with the grater or collander method suggested. Instead I went old school on my spaetzle; I left the dough in a mound on a cutting board and held the board in my left arm while slicing off thin strips of dough with a large knife. I'd just use the knife to slide them off into the boiling water. It turned out amazing and was a perfect pairing with our St.Moritz schnitzel and sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I use 1 cup of milk instead of the water, and tend to let them sit for awhile, stirring occasionally, before cooking. I *love* these -- I usually serve them with (like tonight) my mom's Chicken Paprikash, or some type of stroganoff. My kids will eat them just with butter. :) Also, these freeze wonderfully -- just butter them up a bit, then put in a freezer zip-top bag. It's great when the hard work of getting the rubbery dough through the spaetzle press makes TWO meals instead of one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States