Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
the reviewers who spoke of frying these in butter with onions reminds me of a polish noodle dish my family makes. we know them as poluski (i'm sure my spelling is off). the dumplings a slightly larger but prepared much the same way. the easiest way is to hold the bowl with the batter over the pot of boiling water and while "pouring" slowly use a knife to cut the dumplings along the edge of the bowl. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
cant you put the dough in a zip lock bag and cut tiny hole in corner and squeeze out and break or cut? or is this idea too slow? Ive never had this but plan to this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I am giving 5 stars even though I have never tried making spaetzles. I know a good recipe when I see one. Will make them SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is more a note on how to make Spaetzle without a Spaetzle maker. I've made another recipe from this site a few times and it comes out wonderfully (and has a bit of nutmeg). I have a grill pan with holes in it. It fits right over my large stainless pot which I fill halfway with water ( as they expand upon cooking). I spray the pan on both sides with Pam and just push the dough through over the boiling water. It comes our beautifully. I am going to take the advice of other reviews here and try sauteeing them with chopped onion and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is just what I was looking for. This recipe was easy to make and we had spaetzle in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
It gets 5 stars, when you add a bit more water to the recipe, so that it can easily be squeezed through the spaetzle press and put into the frying pan with butter and seasoning salt. I like my spaetzle browned in butter and seasoned. For a family of 6, I have to triple the recipe to have left overs. I don't like going through the fuss of cleaning up the dough, unless we can eat it for more than a day. For those on a diet, it's about 205 calories for 3/4 cup when you add in 2 tbsp of lite butter to the entire batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Just like Oma used to make! I love this recipe! After I found my old metal spaetzle press on ebay, I have made this at least twice a week... no more store bought pasta for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Instead of club soda, try adding 1 Tsp of baking powder. It makes it nice and fluffy. I also use milk instead of water. And definitely fry it in butter so it gets a little golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Love the flavor + texture. The problem was getting them thru the holes in the colander. I will try again and let you know the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda
Home Town: Waretown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Taste was decent, but the hole in the colander trick didn't work well for me. Next time I will try a pasta extruder attached to my mixer, over the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gambrills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States