Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very good dumpling. Used with the IRISH CHICKEN AND DUMPLINGS. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These came out delicious, but I can't give it 5 stars because the method in the directions (pressing the dough through a colander) didn't work at all. Either the consistency is wrong (maybe it needs more water? I used the amount in the recipe), or you really need a special tool like a spaetzle maker. I tried a cheese grater as recommended by other reviewers, but that was an even bigger disaster. I ended up breaking off small pieces with my fingers (dipped in olive oil). It took a while, but it was delicious when it was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I was born to a german mother in Bavaria and married a man who was born to a German mother from Schwaben which is the home of Spaetzle. My mother-in-law made great spaetzle and gave me a press. I tried this receipe and it is excellent and easy. I am submitting my own enhancements which added to the recipe. I added a pinch of nutmeg. I see this mentioned a few times. I recommend it. I used 1/2 c water & 1/4 c milk for the 3/4 c water. I let the dough rest on the counter for 5 hrs before pressing. I also used canned chicken broth instead of plain water to boil the spaetzle in. I was so proud!!! My husband's german cousin also says add a few pats of butter and put in a freezer bag or container and it freezes well, ready to use. The best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Definitely benefits from the addition of nutmeg, salt and pepper. I served these with green beans and sauteed onion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I'm orig. from Germany and come from the main "Spaetzle territory - Schwaben". This is the correct recipe, only you form a more stiff dough to make the Spaetzle rubbery, as my husband calls them. Most Schwaebians use all eggs instead of adding water, which will make them "rubbery". This depends on once taste if you want either the soft or the rubbery noodles. Either one is very good. Leftover Spaetzle can be fried in butter and scramble eggs into the noodles as they fry. Add some additional salt to season. I always add some cubed ham to it. Serve with fresh salads for a meal. Now that's authentic. P.S. Use a Spaetzle press or a Spaetzle Brett (you shave the spaetzle by hand in very thin strips and dip the cutter in the water every few cuts). Very time consuming if you are not used to it. You can get an authentic press, but they are not cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
my mother used to make this and just dropped them in like dumplings to our chicken noodle soup. we called it chicken noodle soup with lumps. was my favorite when i was sick (and still is). the only difference was she used milk instead of water like some others have suggested. two thumbs up from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wattsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Very tasty. Followed the reviewer's suggestion to add nutmeg and it added the perfect flavour I was looking for. Try fried in butter topped with warm saurkraut & gravy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Almost like my Mom's. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was an easy recipe, and my German boyfriend liked it. I served it with my mom's goulash recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelasunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
By far the easiest spaetzle recipe I have ever used. It turned out 100 times better then Martha Stuarts!! I also don't use the colander or grater, I'm usually in a rush so I cut off small pieces of the dough into the boiling water! My husband loves it and its great with a slow cooked potroast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerri lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Highland Mills, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States