Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I use 1 cup of milk instead of the water, and tend to let them sit for awhile, stirring occasionally, before cooking. I *love* these -- I usually serve them with (like tonight) my mom's Chicken Paprikash, or some type of stroganoff. My kids will eat them just with butter. :) Also, these freeze wonderfully -- just butter them up a bit, then put in a freezer zip-top bag. It's great when the hard work of getting the rubbery dough through the spaetzle press makes TWO meals instead of one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Thank you so much, Rhonda, for this simple Spaetzle recipe! It is very good and very easy. I can't imagine, though, doing this without a "ricer"! I always wondered what I would eventually use that ricer for that I bought so cheap!! ;) Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Absolutely Fabulous!I made dough and added 1/4 tsp nutmeg and it took a little extra water to get all dry wet. Left set on counter for about 6 hours and then made. Dough works very well. Keep knife and board wet for ease of handling. This makes enough to easily feed the family of 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I've never eaten this before, but I found it to be quite bland. After making the dough, I really couldn't envision it being pressed through a colander or grated on a cheese grater, as another reviewer suggested. I ended up putting it in a gal. bag, cutting out a corner, and squeezing it into the water. But the dough was so sticky, it wouldn't break off, so I sprayed scissors with Pam and cut off pieces as DH squeezed it out of the bag. I think they ended up being too big, about the size of quarters. I served it with Bavarian Pot Roast from this site, and it wasn't too bad covered with the gravy from the roast. I think we just like spicier food. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very good recipe. I let my dough rest for 2 hours and then pressed through a spaetzle press. It is definitely a serious upper body work out to get the dough through the small holes!! I added nutmeg to the dough too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Mmmmmmm...made these with Simple Beef Stroganoff. So good and easy! Next time I will try nutmeg. I wasn't able to squeeze the dough through colander holes, so I just pulled off little pieces and popped them in the boiling water. Thank you for a yummy dumpling recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Made this a while ago- but I followed the driections exactly. They were so good! I just served them with gravy. I'd never made spaetzle before, but they were easier than I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kasijo
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Cut the recipe in half - 2 scant cups of flour and almost 3 beaten eggs. Texture was PERFECT! Cooked them in a basic chicken soup. Way better than regular noodles. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This recipe is so delicious.. I learned to make this in culinary school. If you add asiago cheese, it's to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
First of all, this is more than 4 servings. i made it with 2 cups of flour and 3 eggs and it made 4 very generous side dish portions. since i really should have used 2 1/2 eggs but didn't want to waste a 1/2 an egg, i used it which made the spaetzle on the very firm side. not bad, but very firm. i will try 2 eggs next time for a softer texture. i did not use any gadget to press through but wet my hands with water, took a half handful of dough, and cut it with a dull knife on my fingertip and pushed it off the knife into the boiling salted water. make your pieces as small as you can, as they really expand in the water and will be huge if you are impatient and make them big. you must salt the water or it will be tasteless. cooked for 3 minutes after they floasted to the top because they did not seem done when just first floating, which was almost immediately. i used milk instead of water, and tossed in butter to serve. very tasty with my pork and sauerkraut. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States