Spaetzle I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
a little tough, but good. Made them by hand because I didnt have anything to push the dough through. boiled then sauteed in butter and served with sausage. toughness may b result of overcooking or overmixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emeraldeyedbride410

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I lived in Germany 6 years and my husband is German. My mother in-law is the best cook in the world - okay, I'm bias. The suggestions from Jeanine (spelling?) Nov. 12th, 2007 are perfect...although I leave out the nutmeg as my North German husband doesn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
SO easy. Brought in other poster's suggestions of adding nutmeg and allowing the batter to sit for a while before cooking. After it was cooked we added minced onion and garlic powder along with cheese. We all agreed that frying these in onions and butter would be our next treat. I will be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I have other receipes for this and thought that I'd try a new one. This is like elastic! Needs lots more milk to go thru the holes of my spaetzle maker. I added milk and nutmeg to make it work. I added more salt to the water for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Very good recipe. Still having issues cutting my spaetzle. Must try to make it "drier" next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I grew up in a German/Austrian family and my Oma was always making her own spaetzle. I really did try this with the colander but it didn't work for me so I did as my mom always did and just pinched off small pieces. As good as it was I'm not sure I'll be making it again as my German butcher carries a bagged brand that fits the bill. However, it was a lot of fun trying it on my own for the first time and I thank you Rhonda for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I love this spaetzle! I just drop pinches of it into the boiling water. I make this every time I make Cabbage and Kielbasa. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schuylerville, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Griffin10
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This recipe was a good jumping off point. My husband's mother is Swabian, so I had some big shoes to fill the first time I made Spaetzle. As others suggested, I used milk instead of water, but didn't really measure how much (added splash by splash till the hubby said it "looked right"). Nice and easy, but rewarding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
My family is German, so we love spaetzle! This recipe worked very well for me...the only problem was that it was way too thick. I ended up adding about 1/4 cup or so of extra water to the mix, and then it was perfect. I stirred in some melted butter, and my family loved it. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Awesome side dish for Jagerschnitzle. I went out and bought a Spaetzle press after the first time making it as using the chef's knife and cutting board was a major pain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Eggless Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta without using eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States