Soybean Succotash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I have never cooked with edamame in recipes but enjoy them in salads, etc. In many ways I started with this recipe as a base for a large family gathering (25 people!). On a stovetop, I cooked frozen lima beans, edamame and corn as directed on package, adding each separately as they required different cooking times. In another saucepan I melted butter and added a fresh red pepper. I also added fresh herbs (thyme, rosemary, cilantro) and dried herbs (thyme and savory), along with salt, seasoned salt and white pepper to taste. Mixed all together after draining veggies and served. The edamame was a big hit in the succotash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is as good as it is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
A really good change of pace. My 4 year old son didn't like his *green corn*, though, LOL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is really good. It makes alot, I think next time I will cut it in half b/c we had alot leftover. I made exactly as written using tastefully simple seasoned salt to spice it up. I will be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Love this! I like lima beans, but love edamame, so I'd take this recipe over traditional succotash any day. Only thing I do differently is add some dried thyme, but you could season it any way you like. I may have added a clove of garlic from time to time, too! Frozen corn works well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I had never tried soybeans before and was looking for something different. I tried another soybean recipe on here as well, and didn't like it either. I would have liked it better with lima beans....and I eat lots of healthy things other people won't touch....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Fantastic! Made this dish but added thinly sliced and fried and then crumbled pancetta... totally delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This isn't bad. You have to like edamame to really appreciate this dish. It's got a very strong flavor. But it's a nice alternative. I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
A lovely simple side-dish. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nyabing, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This was awesome! I took a lot of liberties...eliminated the oil, added kidney beans, a bunch of different spices. It was great all around. You could make this a bunch of different ways, and never get bored.Great idea to substitute the edamame for the lima bean. I never did like lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States